Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
what's wrong? >

what's wrong?

what's wrong?

Old 06-09-2018, 03:33 AM
  #1  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,621
Default what's wrong?

I have changed the mat and the blade in my rotary cutter but still having trouble with not cutting all the way through 4 layers of cloth. It should be cutting like butter but it's more like perforations and Very frustrating! Can rotary cutters wear out, too?

Last edited by QuiltnNan; 06-09-2018 at 04:26 AM. Reason: remove shouting/all caps
illinois is offline  
Old 06-09-2018, 03:47 AM
  #2  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Tn
Posts: 4,432
Default

Did you tighten the screw too much when you put the new blade on?
cjsews is offline  
Old 06-09-2018, 03:54 AM
  #3  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,929
Default

Try turning the blade over. Some rotary cutters have a right and left hand way for the blade.
lisalovesquilting is offline  
Old 06-09-2018, 04:06 AM
  #4  
Power Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 11,235
Default

also, make sure you only have one blade in the cutter! Ask me how I know.
PaperPrincess is offline  
Old 06-09-2018, 04:30 AM
  #5  
Power Poster
 
SusieQOH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 11,589
Default

All the above suggestions are good ones. I don't think the cutters wear out.
SusieQOH is online now  
Old 06-09-2018, 04:34 AM
  #6  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,393
Default

Originally Posted by PaperPrincess View Post
also, make sure you only have one blade in the cutter! Ask me how I know.
Been there. Done that. That's why I like Sewology blades... package of five come in individual wrappings. So good for a silly little old lady.
SillySusan is offline  
Old 06-09-2018, 04:39 AM
  #7  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 2,351
Default

Originally Posted by PaperPrincess View Post
also, make sure you only have one blade in the cutter! Ask me how I know.
I can attest to that !
tranum is offline  
Old 06-09-2018, 04:42 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
IceLeopard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 913
Default

Originally Posted by SusieQOH View Post
All the above suggestions are good ones. I don't think the cutters wear out.
I had a Fiskars cutter that did. The spindle cracked, and the blade got jammed there and wasn't turning. So while it did cut, it was like cutting with a box knife.
IceLeopard is offline  
Old 06-09-2018, 04:42 AM
  #9  
Power Poster
 
SusieQOH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 11,589
Default

Interesting, IceLeopard. I didn't think they did.
SusieQOH is online now  
Old 06-09-2018, 05:37 AM
  #10  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,132
Default

More than once, I have changed the blade and put two in instead of one blade.
elnan is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
fabricluvr
Main
17
02-07-2008 06:30 AM
Foggy
Main
6
09-22-2007 08:13 PM
Catherine
Main
36
09-19-2007 07:02 AM
Knot Sew
Main
6
07-22-2007 06:02 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter


SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.