Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Why won't it feed?

  1. #1
    Super Member MommaDorian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Sully, Iowa
    Posts
    2,506
    Blog Entries
    2
    I'm working on a denim rag quilt. I just got my squares sandwhiched and started stitching them. I did 5 of them. Now it won't feed anymore. I changed my needle, rethreaded the needle, rethreaded my bobbin, took my regular foot off and replaced it with my walking foot. Nothing is working. It just stitches in the same place.

    Why would it do that?

  2. #2
    Power Poster Prism99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Western Wisconsin
    Posts
    12,155
    Blog Entries
    1
    Have you double-checked to make sure the feed dogs are still up? On some machines you can accidentally drop the feed dogs.

  3. #3
    Super Member Shemjo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Posts
    6,895
    Have you checked the stitch length on your machine? Can you raise and lower your feed dogs? Did they get lowered by mistake?

  4. #4
    Super Member virtualbernie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    3,588
    Blog Entries
    3
    did your feed dogs drop somehow? or your stitch length got changed by mistake?

  5. #5
    Super Member Lisa_wanna_b_quilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    The middle of an IL cornfield
    Posts
    7,024
    Blog Entries
    1
    I have had my feed dogs get bound up with strings.

  6. #6
    Power Poster amma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Out searching for some sunshine :-)
    Posts
    59,088
    Blog Entries
    1
    Is your presser foot down while sewing?
    Have you cleaned your bobbin area?
    Did you somehow change the pressure for your presser foot? :D:D:D

  7. #7
    Power Poster nativetexan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    home again, after 27 yrs!
    Posts
    16,249
    Blog Entries
    2
    also ck if the area in between the feed dogs is clean. sometimes lint gets packed in there. i have to remove it with a straight pin at times.
    try other fabric too and see if you still have the same problem.
    and are you sure the feed dogs are engaged. didn't hit the button by mistake that disengages them for FMQing??

  8. #8
    Super Member MommaDorian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Sully, Iowa
    Posts
    2,506
    Blog Entries
    2
    I tried cotton fabric and it did the same thing, still wouldn't feed. I checked my feed dogs, they are still up. I also moved the needle up and down to make sure the feed dogs were moving up and down, they are. I shorted my stitches, someone suggested I do that to avoid it coming loose during regular use. I wondered about the shortened stitch, but why would 5 go ok then stop.

  9. #9
    Power Poster Prism99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Western Wisconsin
    Posts
    12,155
    Blog Entries
    1
    If you have cleaned out the feed dogs and the bobbin area, I am wondering if the denim combined with the short stitch may have thrown off the timing.

  10. #10
    Super Member MommaDorian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Sully, Iowa
    Posts
    2,506
    Blog Entries
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by Prism99
    If you have cleaned out the feed dogs and the bobbin area, I am wondering if the denim combined with the short stitch may have thrown off the timing.
    Timing? How do I fix that?

  11. #11
    Power Poster Prism99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Western Wisconsin
    Posts
    12,155
    Blog Entries
    1
    Fixing timing is usually a repair person's job. It requires quite a bit of know-how to do it yourself, and may also depend on the type of machine.

    What brand and model of machine do you have?

  12. #12
    Super Member Shemjo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Posts
    6,895
    Sometimes turning the machine off and then back on again, it might reset itself.

  13. #13
    Super Member candi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    NE The Sunshine State
    Posts
    4,071
    Quote Originally Posted by Shemjo
    Sometimes turning the machine off and then back on again, it might reset itself.
    I was going to suggest that, sometimes when I quilt, the bulk pushes buttons and my some settings change, try turning it off, waiting a couple of minutes then turning it back on if you haven't done that already.

    Good luck! Can't imagine how frustrating that must be for you.

  14. #14
    Super Member MommaDorian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Sully, Iowa
    Posts
    2,506
    Blog Entries
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by candi
    Quote Originally Posted by Shemjo
    Sometimes turning the machine off and then back on again, it might reset itself.
    I was going to suggest that, sometimes when I quilt, the bulk pushes buttons and my some settings change, try turning it off, waiting a couple of minutes then turning it back on if you haven't done that already.

    Good luck! Can't imagine how frustrating that must be for you.
    That could very well be why all of the sudden it worked again. I turned it off in disgust, heading off to find something else to do. lol When I got back to make some of the changes/corrections you all here mentioned, it worked again. Go figure. :)

    Thanks everyone!!

  15. #15
    Super Member candi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    NE The Sunshine State
    Posts
    4,071
    Quote Originally Posted by MommaDorian

    That could very well be why all of the sudden it worked again. I turned it off in disgust, heading off to find something else to do. lol When I got back to make some of the changes/corrections you all here mentioned, it worked again. Go figure. :)

    Thanks everyone!!

    Yay! Glad it worked.

  16. #16
    Super Member Shemjo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Posts
    6,895
    Sometimes I think my machine is smarter than I am!

    Glad it is working for you now.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.