Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Winding the Bobbin >

Winding the Bobbin

Winding the Bobbin

Old 12-18-2013, 11:00 AM

Question Winding the Bobbin

I am having problems winding the bobbin. I am a beginner sewer. When I try to use the plastic bobbin, I find that the thread that I put through the middle that comes out on top of the bobbin and also the part you are supposed to "hold" when winding the bobbin breaks off when I am trying to wind the bobbin. I have had more problems trying to wind the metal bobbins. I have tried every tension number to get the bobbin to wind and am still having troubles. I have a Singer sewing machine and have read the directions over and over and over again. Can anyone here help me please. I really need help with this as I live alone and have nobody else to ask. I would appreciate any suggestions given. Thank Again. Frugalsewer.
Old 12-18-2013, 11:05 AM

I wish I could help you but I'm not familiar with that machine. Does it wind in place? Mine does not, but I can tell you when I start out I hold the thread for a minute until I'm sure it's winding then clip the thread & let go.
Old 12-18-2013, 11:10 AM

Go to onlinesewing.com. There is a great tutorial on how to properly wind a bobbin.
Old 12-18-2013, 11:10 AM

That's the way I wind on my Singer also. After it has caught hold, you no longer need to hold a thread. I don't understand what the problem is.
Old 12-18-2013, 02:30 PM

Thanks for the input Maggiemay

Originally Posted by Maggiemay View Post
I wish I could help you but I'm not familiar with that machine. Does it wind in place? Mine does not, but I can tell you when I start out I hold the thread for a minute until I'm sure it's winding then clip the thread & let go.
Old 12-18-2013, 02:31 PM

Thanks so much Toverly! I really appreciate all the input.
Old 12-18-2013, 02:32 PM

After the thread breaks, it doesn't wind anymore and it isn't like there is a lot of thread on the bobbin after it breaks. It is justa little bit