Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 35

Thread: Windmill quilt layout opinions needed

  1. #1
    Senior Member patti p's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Sandpoint, Idaho
    Posts
    424
    Blog Entries
    3

    Windmill quilt layout opinions needed

    hi there I'm making a windmill quilt and before i put on my corners I'm testing a layout should i do a Color fade or a random? opinions please
    Attached Images Attached Images

    Patti P
    Enjoy the creative process

  2. #2
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Flagstaff, Arizona
    Posts
    6,219
    Beautiful blocks. I think it would look great in a random arrangement but I always turn to have my blocks scattered across the quilt. I am sure you will get great ideas from the QB members on here. Which arrangement do you like the best?

  3. #3
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    48,074
    Blog Entries
    53
    i would normally say the color fade. but with your windmills, i would say scattered
    Nancy in western NY
    before you speak T.H.I.N.K.
    T is it True? H is it Helpful? I is it Inspiring? N is it Necessary? K is it Kind?

    Life may not be the party we hoped for, but while we are here we might as well dance.

  4. #4
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    3,309
    Color fade is my vote!! Love these blocks!!!

  5. #5
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Myrtle Beach, SC
    Posts
    7,519
    I love them both! So glad I don't have to make the decision.

  6. #6
    Senior Member JayneW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Cheyenne, WY
    Posts
    376
    I like the scattered arrangement just a bit better.

  7. #7
    Super Member quilt addict's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    2,762
    Since it isn't very many blocks, I would go with the scattered. Great blocks.
    Lisa

  8. #8
    Super Member Teen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    4,103
    My vote is scattered. Looks like candy!!!! Beautiful.
    Quilting therapy for the therapist...
    My Summertime Swap blocks: https://www.quiltingboard.com/member...bums19923.html

  9. #9
    Super Member quiltingshorttimer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    kansas
    Posts
    4,946
    Blog Entries
    37
    I like a color fade and would put that purple one in the far left corner and work up--blues, turquoise, greens, etc. Neat quilt.

  10. #10
    Super Member cashs_mom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    6,008
    Quote Originally Posted by quiltingshorttimer View Post
    I like a color fade and would put that purple one in the far left corner and work up--blues, turquoise, greens, etc. Neat quilt.
    I agree with this ^^^^^
    Patrice S

    Bernina Artista 180, Singer 301a, Featherweight Centennial, Rocketeer, Juki 2200 QVP Mini, White 1964 Featherweight

  11. #11
    Senior Member AVFD215's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    545
    I like both. Very nice. Great colours too.
    Mike

  12. #12
    Super Member SusieQOH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Central Ohio
    Posts
    8,820
    I'm no help because I love both!! But if I have to choose I go with the second one.

  13. #13
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    6,550
    My choice would be a random placement for the existing blocks. For a color fade, I'd be making another light red/pink/coral, and remove the darkest blue.

    Layout:
    Dark red in the upper right, then going diagonal, two mid red, then three lighter red (one new). Then four using the yellow and three oranges. then another row of four, using the four of the lighter green (and the blue/green since the green in that one is light). Next row would be three darker green/turquoise blocks. Then two blue and the purple in the lower left corner.

    Another thing that helps with color fade, move from light to dark in the diagonal row, so where you have yellow and three oranges, example would be put the yellow at top, then the lightest orange and the darkest orange at the bottom. The next row, put the lightest green at the top and move down to the darkest green at the bottom.
    Last edited by Macybaby; 01-16-2018 at 07:09 AM.
    My name is Cathy - and I'm addicted to old sewing machines and their attachments.

  14. #14
    Power Poster Homespun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    McLoud, OK
    Posts
    12,022
    I prefer the random look.
    Retired teacher, loving it.
    Love quilting also.

  15. #15
    Power Poster Boston1954's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    East Oklahoma - pining for Massachusetts
    Posts
    10,470
    I like the random one.
    Life is not a movie. No one is going to yell "CUT" when you make a mistake. - Anne L. Fulton

    I am from the South....39 miles south of Boston.

  16. #16
    Super Member ArtsyOne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Canadian in Minnesota
    Posts
    3,062
    I like the random one, with possibly the purple one in the center since it appears that you only have one of those.
    A fabric stash is always missing that one fabric needed to finish the quilt on which you're working.

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Saskatchewan
    Posts
    745
    I prefer the colour fade, and I like Macybaby's suggestion for how to arrange it.

    Whichever way you go, your quilt is going to be lovely!

  18. #18
    Super Member Watson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,762
    I prefer the colour fade.

    Lovely, any way you look at it.

    Watson

  19. #19
    Super Member Kassaundra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Rural Oklahoma
    Posts
    4,958
    Color fade, but either way those two white cornered ones are very distracting.
    "Never cruel, nor cowardly, never give up, never give in."

    Let's take care of the Earth, it is the only planet that for sure has Chocolate.

    Sonic screwdrivers, fez, bow ties, and Stetsons are cool.

  20. #20
    Super Member Kassaundra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Rural Oklahoma
    Posts
    4,958
    Oh my, just realized my mistake, I just woke and have had very little sleep in the past 36 hours. The brown is the floor, you weren't trying to make the secondary circle patterning. Ooops, I still prefer the fade, but I seldom prefer complete random or scrappy, my mind always tried for some sort of order.
    "Never cruel, nor cowardly, never give up, never give in."

    Let's take care of the Earth, it is the only planet that for sure has Chocolate.

    Sonic screwdrivers, fez, bow ties, and Stetsons are cool.

  21. #21
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    7,878
    Color face is my vote. Pretty quilt.

  22. #22
    Super Member Annie68's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    1,460
    I'd go with the random, lovely quilt!

  23. #23
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    54
    I vote color fade, but with Macybaby's suggested changes.

  24. #24
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    1,472
    Lovely pattern! Very pretty!

  25. #25
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    4,354
    I like the random the best. Very pretty blocks!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.