Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Pictures
Block problems >

Block problems

Block problems

Old 08-05-2013, 05:18 PM

Unhappy Block problems

I am just getting into quilting and have made some simple blocks. However I am disappointed to find some imperfections that I am worried might cause me problems down the line. These are some examples:

It has some rippling and the dimensions are slightly off on one side

In the center the stitching doesn't line up

A large ripple at the bottom

Am I doing well enough to try more advanced blocks or should I not be having these problems? Any tips or suggestions?
Old 08-06-2013, 12:41 PM

Steam and busy fabrics and no one will ever see those "mistakes"! Seriously, get over it, you're doing great, I say go for it!
Old 08-06-2013, 12:52 PM

Pressing your blocks should help. I think they look pretty good. If you are concerned about the centers, make sure your seems nest together and try one pin to hold when sewing. Great start. Look forward to seeing quilt when you are done.
Old 08-06-2013, 12:55 PM

I love your fabric choices and your workmanship. I'd put those blocks in my quilt.

You can starch your fabric before cutting. That helps a good bit. Especially when working with a bias edge. There are many online videos and such to help you if those imperfections are going to drive you crazy. For example, there are many ways to make half square triangles. Some people get better results with one instead of another.
Old 08-06-2013, 01:12 PM