Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: First quilt to share - crazy quilt with butterlies and lace

First quilt to share - crazy quilt with butterlies and lace

I spend most of my time over on the Vintage Machine site - and this is the first quilt I'm sharing pictures of.

I've been sewing for over 40 years, and just started getting into quilting. This is the third one I've done on my frame, and I still need a lot of practice.

This quilt has an interesting story.

I've got a lot of vintage lace and wanted to make a quilt with it. In my mind it would be creams and whites, but as I got started it sort of took on a life of it's own and went Rose pink and teal blue. I had thought I was making it for myself, but about halfway through I knew I'd never keep it, but had no idea who it would be for.

I had planned on taking my time working on it, yet once I got started I couldn't seem to get away from it, and I had it all pieced in about two weeks and then ready to go on the quilt frame. I had a lot going on in my life and really should have just put it aside for a while, but I felt very strongly about getting it done.

My mother has been terminally ill for some time, and she's had my nephew and his wife living with her for over a year now, since right before Dad died. I live 5 hours away and had seen Mom on March 8th and talked to my siblings (I've got 9 of them) and we knew it was getting time. I guess working on the quilt helped give me something else to focus on, though I still had no idea who would get it. I figured it would be put away for some future person (maybe a DIL . . .)