Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 7 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 156

Thread: Inner border opinion please

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Russellville AR
    Posts
    1,945
    I'm working on a new quilt, and can't decide if I like it better with the black inner border separating the blocks border, or without.
    First picture has the inner black border, 2nd is without, 3rd is the blocks so far.
    I would appreciate your thoughts!
    Attached Images Attached Images



  2. #2
    Super Member Tussymussy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    UK side of the pond
    Posts
    1,853
    I like it with the inner border, but it is a great quilt either way.

  3. #3
    Moderator Jim's Gem's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Camarillo, California
    Posts
    35,480
    I like it with as well!

  4. #4
    Super Member bjeriann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Cottondale, Alabama
    Posts
    1,781
    Blog Entries
    2
    I like the inner border.

  5. #5
    Super Member janRN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    western Pa
    Posts
    4,601
    I love your quilt-great colors. It looks good either way. For some reason when I look at the one without the inner border there is lots of movement in the quilt. The inner border (tho it looks really nice) seems to stop the movement. This is just my VERY humble opinion. Love it!

  6. #6
    Super Member Sandee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    middle America
    Posts
    2,848
    Blog Entries
    71
    I like the black inner border.

  7. #7
    Power Poster erstan947's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    12,168
    Blog Entries
    47
    With the inner border:):thumbup:

  8. #8
    Super Member sewwhat85's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    missouri
    Posts
    6,895
    i like it with the black border

  9. #9
    Super Member Barb_MO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    2,484
    I like it with the inner border....but think it needs yet a very small border of another color to separate the inner black border from the black in the blocks. You could use a border as small as 1/2 in...just need a little something to break there. If there is a color that is only in the inside of the block, then that would be a good choice to use.

  10. #10
    Super Member Mazda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Oklahoma City
    Posts
    1,025
    I love the quilt, I like the bright colors. My choice would be with the inner border.

  11. #11
    Super Member Mazda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Oklahoma City
    Posts
    1,025
    I love the quilt, I like the bright colors. My choice would be with the inner border.

  12. #12
    Super Member carolaug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Behind my sewing machine
    Posts
    7,207
    Blog Entries
    4
    Love the first one.

  13. #13
    a regular here
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    So. Ea. Ind.
    Posts
    1,332
    With the black inner border/

  14. #14
    Senior Member ThreadHead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Org. Texas now Florida
    Posts
    732
    First one, lol

    Looks like most of them like the inner border.

  15. #15
    Super Member fabric_fancy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    at my sewing machine
    Posts
    1,975
    i like the 2nd one, i like how the flow continues on that one.

  16. #16
    Super Member cctx.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Corpus Christi, Texas (that's me!)
    Posts
    4,874
    Blog Entries
    2
    Looks good, but appears very bright, but I like the layout on your first photo. Awesome work too.

  17. #17
    Super Member quiltsillysandi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,138
    For my tastes, I like it with, however, both quilts look very good...Stunning colors....

  18. #18
    Senior Member clynns's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    975
    I like the inner border because it draws your eye to the work that you put into the border squares. It makes them seems to 'float'. Great job.

  19. #19
    Super Member almostfree's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Rural Ohio
    Posts
    1,398
    I like the black border; it sets off your pieced border.

  20. #20
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    42,793
    Blog Entries
    45
    definitely the first one, with the inner border

  21. #21
    Super Member quiltsRfun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    8,050
    Blog Entries
    1
    I like it better with the inner border. It makes the center panel float.

    BTW - this is a lovely design. Love the colors, especially with the black.

  22. #22
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    OK
    Posts
    698
    I like it with the black border. It makes the quilt pop.

  23. #23
    Super Member pittsburgpam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,491
    I like the inner black border. Makes the blocks in the border look like they're floating.

  24. #24
    Super Member bjnicholson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Cleveland OH
    Posts
    3,236
    Blog Entries
    1
    I like the first one with the black inner border. I don't know why, I just do!!!

  25. #25
    Super Member TerryQuilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Vista, CA
    Posts
    1,515
    The inner border really makes the block border seem like it's floating. Go with the inner border :thumbup:

Page 1 of 7 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.