Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 6 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 142

Thread: Looking for opinions on BFF fabrics

  1. #1
    Super Member Favorite Fabrics's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Orchard Park, NY (near Buffalo, which is near Niagara Falls)
    Posts
    4,199
    Blog Entries
    1

    Looking for opinions on BFF fabrics

    These pictures are from an upcoming collection called "BFF"... by Elizabeth's Studio (ES). When the sales rep showed them to me, my first thought was along the lines of "aww, too bad they are all sepia, a little color would have been nice" ... and so I didn't order them.

    But the sales rep said that at Quilt Market they were the most-sought-after group from ES. And I've spoken a couple of times to Richard Cohn (head guy at ES) and he keeps telling me to reconsider, because they apparently are taking LOTS of orders for this line and he doesn't want me to be left out. (I do order a lot of fabrics by ES, because the designs and the quality of the printing are so top-notch.)

    So... I'm asking what you think? Am I making a mistake by not ordering these?

    You can see the whole collection - with bigger pictures, and including the floral & dot coordinates - here on ES's site: http://elizabethsstudio.wordpress.com/category/bff/
    Attached Images Attached Images




  2. #2
    Moderator sharon b's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Northern Indiana
    Posts
    20,411
    Blog Entries
    10
    I think they are so pretty/nostalgic - and you could brighten the fabrics up with borders and alternating squares !
    To keep your mind fresh- learn one new thing a day !

  3. #3
    Power Poster erstan947's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    12,168
    Blog Entries
    47
    I like them. I would think most of us have a BFF that would love a quilt made from this fabric

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    492
    Blog Entries
    1
    I love those and actually like the fact that they are sepia. Makes them unique. And anyone could brighten them up with color.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Aubrey'sQuiltingCreations's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Gaylord, KS
    Posts
    390
    I would order them if I was you. These are just so cute with so many options to use them for.

  6. #6
    Super Member valleyquiltermo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    MO.
    Posts
    2,685
    Oh my Goodness they are so beautiful. What will the price per yard or panel be???
    I want some.
    http://www.skillpages.com/DonnaValleyquiltermo
    Sweet Dreams come from under Cozy Quilts made with love.
    Life is short, take time to enjoy it. Play with your kids and g-kids,
    and do what you can for others.

  7. #7
    Super Member Joan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Pine Grove, California
    Posts
    2,846
    Personally, I like the sepia tones. Any color could be used with them for sashing or alternate pieced blocks. It would be very hard to look at fabrics to decide what to order. I feel your pain.
    Join me in fighting Alzheimer's Disease-http://www.alzquilts.org/. Make 9" x 12" mini quilts that are sold. These are sold on-line and at the Houston Quilt Show. One hundred percent of the proceeds go for research to fight this dread disease. I lost my Dad to it and my mother-in-law has it as well. Something has to be done--we can sew for a cure!

  8. #8
    Super Member Minnisewta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    1,016
    I'm not blown away by them. I don't know how I would use them because the girls aren't "little" girls and I don't know if older girls would what a quilt with the girls playing little girl games. This is only my opinion. I do like the flowered fabrics.
    I hope more people chime in so you can get help with your question.
    Pam

  9. #9
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    1,202
    I think they will be a hit. Someone needs to make a quilt out of them and then everyone will want them.
    Lorraine

  10. #10
    Super Member ChildoftheUniverse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,163
    I really like this as I am a big sepia fan.. . with all the talent on this board, I'll bet you will see pictures of fantastic quilts in no time. I say go for it.
    We are star dust, we are golden!

  11. #11
    Super Member TerryQuilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Vista, CA
    Posts
    1,515
    Really like them, would buy them in a minute!
    The Trike Riding Quilting Diva

  12. #12
    Super Member sweet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    playing with fabric in Louisiana
    Posts
    3,376
    I am surprised they did not introduce a complimentary color line. The pattern is adorable!

  13. #13
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    1,934
    I would buy these in a heartbeat. I love them.

  14. #14
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    1,934
    I would buy these in a heartbeat. I love them. Just looked on their web site. They do have companion fabrics. I love the whole line.

  15. #15
    Senior Member momto4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Wausau WI GO PACK!!!
    Posts
    768
    Blog Entries
    1
    I too would order them if I were you (and I would buy them from you if I were me ) hehe I love them. They are gorgeous. I do agree I would love them even more with some color but I would just add borders and sashing.

  16. #16
    Super Member cuppi duke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    payette, idaho
    Posts
    2,248
    I love them. I really like the sepia tones. Very nostalgic looking.

  17. #17
    Senior Member MissSandra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Melrose N.Y. Troy Area
    Posts
    899
    Blog Entries
    1
    those are sweet!
    Warm Regards,
    Sandra

  18. #18
    Super Member twixbar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    In Hiding.
    Posts
    2,245
    Lovely fabric.

  19. #19
    Super Member Krisb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Asheville, Lake Vermilion, Tarpon Springs
    Posts
    1,068
    Blog Entries
    27
    I love them. The sepia tone is a little iffy, but could be brightened up without any problem. The two bigger girls and one little girl just remind me of my nieces playing together.
    I arise in the morning torn between a desire to improve the world and a desire to enjoy the world. This makes it hard to plan the day.

  20. #20
    Junior Member Kim T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    171
    Could you tell me where I could order this material. I have looked at the website but all I can see is where distributors can buy not individuals. Thanks Kim I have two granddaughter 7 and 5 this would be perfect for them.

  21. #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    California
    Posts
    900
    Yes you need to get them ! They are gorgeous....and with co-ordinates too. Don't pass these up for your customers !

  22. #22
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1,807
    Blog Entries
    1
    I would order them! I worked in a Photo Lab years ago and the most beautiful pictures were done in Sepia tones. Add those faint tints to the delightful stories being told in each image, and a quilt full of stories emerges. Love it!

  23. #23
    Super Member tutt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    1,040
    I love them. Reminds me of my two cousins and I growing up in the 50's.

  24. #24
    Super Member Favorite Fabrics's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Orchard Park, NY (near Buffalo, which is near Niagara Falls)
    Posts
    4,199
    Blog Entries
    1
    Ok... I guess it didn't take much to twist my arm. The more I look at them, the more I like them, on the strength of the designs. And I'm confident that the designs will turn out well. Elizabeth's Studio is really very particular about the quality and crisp details of the printing. They will delay the release of a fabric until they get the design right. So... I will order it, and though they say it will be available in May, I'm going to say June.

    Our price will be $9.30 / yard, and $6.50 for the panel (which I assume is 2/3 yard).

  25. #25
    Super Member piepatch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    2,929
    I absolutely love them, and would definitely use them! I love sepia and black and white photographs, and would possibly even use black and white fabrics with these prints.

Page 1 of 6 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.