Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 45

Thread: Need some opinions..

  1. #1
    Colorado's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    11
    I just finished this morning! Already thinking about binding. Should I go with the dark blue of the pinwheels or another lighter color? The dark would definately "frame" it but maybe too much? Your suggestions would be awesome. :P
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Super Member FancyFoot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    1,685
    I like the pink

  3. #3
    Community Manager PatriceJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    7,168
    Blog Entries
    3
    i vote dark blue, please :D

  4. #4
    Super Member thimblebug6000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    British Columbia
    Posts
    6,116
    Do you have a room this is planned for? You could bring out the room colour in the binding. I prefer a softer colour for the binding, whether the pink, blue or tans.

  5. #5
    Colorado's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    11
    I sell quilts on ETSY and EBAY but I wasn't decided about this one yet. It would go very nice in our guest bedroom... Thanks for answering me, all I have to ask around here is my hubby and it's always "it's real nice honey, whatever you think" bless his heart.

  6. #6
    Power Poster amma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Out searching for some sunshine :-)
    Posts
    59,092
    Blog Entries
    1
    Very Pretty! I vote for the dark too :D I like the blue and white quilt in the background, also :D

  7. #7
    Senior Member Missi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Kansas - north west corner
    Posts
    550
    That is beautiful - personally I would go with the pink or tan binding.

    The blue would look great too but I am afraid that is the first place your eyes will go, the dark binding. Or it might ground it perfectly. Let us know what ya do.

  8. #8
    Senior Member QuiltingTurtle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    695
    I think the tan would be lovely. Just my opinion. I know it will be beautiful in whichever one you choose.

  9. #9
    Super Member SaraSewing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    AZ/Utah border
    Posts
    3,192
    I vote to continue using the pastel/tans. I think a border of the dark may be too much. That way, the dark blue pinwheels would be a eye catching center of the quilt. I love this one. It's so subtle but stunning.

  10. #10
    Senior Member Lisa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    East Texas
    Posts
    596
    My vote is the dark blue, it would really make it "pop" out!

  11. #11
    Senior Member Stitching4Fun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Eastern Shore, Maryland
    Posts
    329
    I would vote for the dark. I like my quilt to look like it is framed. I like the "pop" look. And if I have a dark quilt I go with a light color that is in the quilt for the binding. I usually do the opposite.

    Barb

  12. #12
    community benefactor Knot Sew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    5,723
    I vote dark blue....will make a frame around a beautiful quilt :D

  13. #13
    mgshaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    3,079
    I think the dark blue, it would anchor your pinwheels so they arent tumbling off into space,
    Try laying a piece of blue along 1 side and a lighter color on the other and take a picture of it ( I sometimes get a better idea of it from a photo, maybe its the reducing glass effect)

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    293
    I would go with the Navy blue. I would frame the quilt in a Navy sashing then put the pink, or tan binding.

    What a nice quilt! It is so pretty!! :D :D :D

  15. #15
    moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1,968
    Dark blue...it will frame it and give it balance. :)

  16. #16
    Colorado's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    11
    OMG!! I had no idea I would get so many suggestions. Thank you thank you. You all make so much sense :) I'll try the picture taking one with all your suggestions and then decide....

  17. #17
    mgshaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    3,079
    Colorado, I forgot to say I really love your quilt! I love your variety of backgraound colors :thumbup: I always have trouble picking backgrounds that dont overpower the rest of the block. Great Quilt!!!!!!

  18. #18
    Diamonds's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    658
    I agree with the dark blue :thumbup:

  19. #19
    Super Member Butterflyspain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Torrox, Andalucia, Southern Spain
    Posts
    9,532
    Hi I love your quilt, and think that the Dark blue would be my choice, it would really finish it of nicely.

    If per chance you donīt like the finished result...........send it to me, Thanks in advance :D :!:

  20. #20
    Super Member Harmony's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Brea, California
    Posts
    4,411
    I'll go with dark blue, too. This is a gorgeous quilt--and whatever you decide to do, it will still be gorgeous! All the opinions here just prove that there's no right or wrong way to do it!

  21. #21
    Super Member chairjogger's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    My favorite place in the world is Lake Erie Region USA
    Posts
    2,753
    Blog Entries
    2
    Wow ! Everything is perfectly fits! Did you plan the quilt? on graph paper? Someone here I met at chat plans their quilts when not sewing ! Never learned how to do that ! Just do log cabins, honeybee, thangle ( triangle) quilts until it fits the purpose!

    This is crafted ! THere is so much to learn here ! I am lucky I found this site - just by google.com!
    Chairjogger

  22. #22
    Super Member jbsstrawberry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Central Illinois
    Posts
    3,326
    It's beautiful!!! I vote dark blue as well!!!

  23. #23
    Super Member twistedstitcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    1,024
    Very pretty! I vote dark blue too, it will frame the quilt nicely.

  24. #24
    Colorado's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    11
    Thank you all so much! I pretty much decided but it will be a surprise, I put a picture on when I'm done and you all can see. :D The background fabrics are a bundle of fat quarters called Muted Transitions. Beautiful bundle!

  25. #25
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Daytona Beach Shores, FL
    Posts
    2,355
    Blog Entries
    1
    I vote dark blue. I once heard you should use a darker color since it will be more likely to touch the ground. It will anchor pin wheels, kinda like a frame on a picture.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.