Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 29

Thread: Need your honest opinions

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Metter, GA
    Posts
    53
    This is a snowman project I am working on for my secretary. I am not sure the colors coordinate. Please give me your opinions. I am thinking I need to do something different where the red snowman print is that will match the green/red a little better. Help!

    Close up of corners
    Name:  Attachment-128574.jpe
Views: 37
Size:  40.5 KB

    close up
    Name:  Attachment-128576.jpe
Views: 37
Size:  30.1 KB
    Attached Images Attached Images


  2. #2
    Super Member quiltlonger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Rushford, NY
    Posts
    1,690
    They are all holiday prints: I don't see the problem the snowman stands out keep going

  3. #3
    Super Member quilting cat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Lake Stevens, WA
    Posts
    1,896
    Keep that snoman print!

  4. #4
    Cyn
    Cyn is offline
    Super Member Cyn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Jacksonville NC
    Posts
    6,761
    Blog Entries
    17
    I'm no help because I love it!

  5. #5
    BMP
    BMP is offline
    Super Member BMP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    2,504
    Blog Entries
    4
    I think its fine there is such a variety and they all look good together.

    P.S. Can I be your secretary...

  6. #6
    Senior Member lizpatterson1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    AZ
    Posts
    942
    I agree with Quiltlonger - they are holiday prints.

  7. #7
    Senior Member busygranny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Oshkosh, Wis
    Posts
    831
    Blog Entries
    1
    I don't like the stripe next to the snowman--it is melting out to nothing. Not interesting. Need a solid next to it.
    Maybe a deep red marble, which would outline the snoman very nicely. Make for more interest. Just my opinion.

  8. #8
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Elmira, NY
    Posts
    6,226
    Quote Originally Posted by busygranny
    I don't like the stripe next to the snowman--it is melting out to nothing. Not interesting. Need a solid next to it.
    Maybe a deep red marble, which would outline the snoman very nicely. Make for more interest. Just my opinion.
    I agree about the stripes, but I was thinking about a dark green, to contrast with the red, IMHO. The red snowman is very pretty.

  9. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    849
    Busygranny is right, it is the stripe you are not liking.

  10. #10
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Alturas, CA
    Posts
    8,481
    I personally think the first border is the problem, maybe switching the 2 borders.

  11. #11
    mim
    mim is offline
    Super Member mim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    maine/washington
    Posts
    1,402
    I agree -- perhaps the dark green would be better because the snowman print also has reds in it -- Are you going to embroider a face on the snowman?? I like the whole idea !!!!

  12. #12
    Super Member lpsewing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Reading,Pa
    Posts
    2,044
    I like the idea of a snowflake print around the snowman to help set it off

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Metter, GA
    Posts
    53
    I think that is why I am asking. I think it is too busy. I put the stripe first because I was going to use that as the binder pattern and backing also. But I have plenty of red material. I can swap the stripe and wreath print around and bind in red. I just really dont like it as it is. Thank you guys!

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Metter, GA
    Posts
    53
    Quote Originally Posted by mim
    I agree -- perhaps the dark green would be better because the snowman print also has reds in it -- Are you going to embroider a face on the snowman?? I like the whole idea !!!!
    Yes! Button eyes and orange nose!

  15. #15
    Senior Member bronald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Kamloops B.C.
    Posts
    316
    I agree it's the stripe not enough contrast. You could just remove your borders and switch them so the green is against the snowman.

  16. #16
    Super Member franie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    SW Iowa
    Posts
    6,573
    I think it is fine also.

  17. #17
    Kmshir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    KY
    Posts
    344
    Looks great to me!

  18. #18
    Mimito2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Oak Ridge TN
    Posts
    883
    I would take out the stripe. It makes it to busy. Solid green?

  19. #19
    Moderator littlehud's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    SW Iowa
    Posts
    32,957
    I love it just the way it is. Great job so far.

  20. #20
    Senior Member pjustice63's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Ky/Florida
    Posts
    784
    I tend to agree with the others. The stripe just isn't strong enough. It would make a gorgeous binding though...on the bias.

  21. #21
    Member zactanls's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Orlando, Fl
    Posts
    83
    I think it is just fine.

  22. #22
    Super Member Latrinka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Slidell, Louisiana
    Posts
    6,946
    I love it like it is!

  23. #23
    Power Poster Mariposa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Eastern Washington
    Posts
    27,142
    I vote for changing out the stripe, as it kinda washes out. The snowman is a cute idea tho!

  24. #24
    Senior Member jdeery's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    434
    Blog Entries
    1
    I too feel the strip doesn't work, that may be a good backing
    or even binding. But the prints are all too busy and your
    loosing your snowman. But what a cute idea for someone
    in your life.

  25. #25
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    120
    I like it like it is because they are all Christmas colors but if you are uneasy with it I would substitute a narrow (1-1 1/2 ")black border like the snowman's hat, then add the other borders. Illsa

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.