Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 25 of 25

Thread: new Project...opinions

  1. #1
    community benefactor Knot Sew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    5,723
    This is what I am contemplating........This is called Lafayette's orange peel, It has also been know as bay leaf or tea leaf. This is not sewn just laid out. I want to use all light prints, no dark colors. what do you think. :?: Magazine pic included :D
    Attached Images Attached Images



  2. #2
    Super Member Moonpi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Central FL
    Posts
    4,851
    I like it - reminds me of the easy cathedral windows. Are the ovals appliqued?

  3. #3
    community benefactor Knot Sew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    5,723
    yes a machine applique.....or will be :D

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Becky
    Posts
    708
    Ruth
    Like your pattern, And your colors, altho the pink piece with the little flowers seemd not to fit with the color lay out, The other 3 have a small print and the pink one has a little larger flower. Looking at the other pieces you have cut out, and I noticed the peach color with a small print , I think that would look better then the pink. Just a thought and opinon. I know every one has an opinon.

  5. #5
    Country Quilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,018
    I think it is awesome and once that larger floral is mixed together with the rest of the squares it won't be as noticeable.

  6. #6
    Community Manager PatriceJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    7,167
    Blog Entries
    3
    my opinion? Ruth is on her way to another beeeoootiful quilt. :P

  7. #7
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    9,792
    Blog Entries
    1
    It'll be like a breath of fresh air--spring air. :D

  8. #8
    Senior Member Karenmay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    South Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    489
    Thats going to look great Ruth...I love applique!...I'm in the middle of a Dresden plate quilt and thoroughly enjoying working on it!

    Karen

  9. #9
    moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1,968
    I like it. Will be very pretty with your choice in fabrics. :)

  10. #10
    community benefactor Knot Sew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    5,723
    Do you think I should include bigger prints and more color variation.......a scrappy sort. Thats what I want ideas and opinions :D

  11. #11
    Country Quilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,018
    I think you could use anything Ruth! Like I said, once the squares are all attached, everything will just blend and be beautiful!!

  12. #12
    Super Member Chele's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Belle Isle, Florida
    Posts
    6,737
    That's a cool block. I love your repro-looking fabrics on the white. So crisp and clean looking. And I think it would look neat all scrappy. Reminds me of an antique quilt.

  13. #13
    Super Member Yvonne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Humboldt County, California
    Posts
    1,733
    Quote Originally Posted by Ruth Camp
    Do you think I should include bigger prints and more color variation.......a scrappy sort. Thats what I want ideas and opinions :D
    What a wonderful quilt this is going to be. Hows about... ready for this??? Put your fabrics into a paper bag, reach in and whatever comes out is what gets stitched down? OR, close your eyes and reach into your stash cupboard. In my humble opinion anything will work and it'll all look great! More is better?!! Looking forward to watching your blocks grow.

    Happy stitching!

  14. #14
    Super Member Barb M's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Mission, BC
    Posts
    2,143
    Oh Ruth, your quilt is going to be gorgeous, i love all the fabrics you have there!

  15. #15
    Super Member Minda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Central PA
    Posts
    1,618
    Ruth, I love it. How are you going to machine applique? Do you use monofilament thread or cotton thread? Can't wait to see it finished.

  16. #16
    Super Member Chele's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Belle Isle, Florida
    Posts
    6,737
    Ruth, your pretty block inspired me to research it. I found this link and have been looking at quilts all afternoon!

    http://museum.msu.edu/glqc/collections_1998.053.048.html

  17. #17
    Power Poster sandpat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    18,757
    Blog Entries
    9
    Ruth, I like the white background with the lighter prints. I think you should add more fabrics and make it really scrappy. In my humble opinion, this quilt will be able to take more variety...the old more fabric is better in this case. :) Whatever you choose, it will turn out very nice.

  18. #18

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    285
    Ruth, I love it. A soft scrappy, spring quilt. Some one is going to be very lucky and happy to get it. Can't wait to see it finished. Please keep us posted as you work on it.. :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup: Pam W. :-) :-) :-)

  19. #19
    Super Member Pam Pollock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Beavercreek, OR
    Posts
    1,381
    Ruth, I like the scrappy idea also. If you look at your magazine you can see that the material prints are all very different, but when you put all your squares together & all the colors come together I think it will work just fine & it will be a fun quilt. Go for it!!! :D

  20. #20
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Living the dream. Part of the year in the east and part of the year in the west
    Posts
    138
    I like what you have laid out but I also like the idea of throwing them in the bag and stitching what comes out but I haven't tried that yet although my star quilts were basically done with what fabric I had available to learn with. No matter what you do I think it will be beautiful. I am also partial to small floral prints so go for it!!!

  21. #21
    Senior Member BDor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    o
    Posts
    373
    Ruth,
    Love that pattern. I saw a small picture of it somewhere but never could find a pattern. Where did you find yours?

    Beverly

  22. #22
    Super Member Feathers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Pacific NW
    Posts
    3,029
    Ruth, your soft colors will be lovely.

  23. #23
    Super Member Celeste's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    N. Ca
    Posts
    4,507
    Blog Entries
    32
    It will look good however you do it, but I agree, I'd love to see more scrappy.

  24. #24
    Super Member Quilting Aggi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Newfoundland, Canada
    Posts
    2,609
    the colours look great!!! this will make a beautiful quilt!! The fact that you will be machine appliquing them will make it easier and faster to put together

  25. #25
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    SE Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,091
    It's beautiful! The only problem with that pink fabric is that it kind of disappears. I would probably dump that fabric and use the others, because the rest of them look like they have sufficient contrast with the white background. The magazine photo shows a much more high-contrast quilt. I like some low-contrast quilts, but with this particular pattern, the contrast is what "makes" it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.