Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Pictures (https://www.quiltingboard.com/pictures-f5/)
-   -   This is what learning looks like (https://www.quiltingboard.com/pictures-f5/what-learning-looks-like-t303919.html)

Jojk 03-30-2019 04:24 AM

This is what learning looks like

2 Attachment(s)
I don't know about you but sometimes I get frustrated when I try my hand at something new and I'm not magically good at it. Especially since I've been quilting for 10 years or so. But I'm a newbie to FMQ and this is what starting at the beginning looks like:

[ATTACH=CONFIG]610933[/ATTACH]

As I was going along I decide the first thing I need to master is consistent distance when echoing. Or, for me, keeping my eyes where they need to be instead of staring at the pretty needle. I managed something decent:

[ATTACH=CONFIG]610934[/ATTACH]

I take my victories where I can. And as I practice I create mini quilts to donate to the animal shelter.

I'm about 5 hours into the 10,000 hours for mastery. Gotta start somewhere right?

SusieQOH 03-30-2019 04:30 AM

Right! And you're doing a fine job. I'm still working on it. I find it to be very very very different from hand quilting!

Tartan 03-30-2019 04:39 AM

​Looking good! I am loving my machine quilting with rulers on my Bernina. It has a learning curve too but so fun!

quilterpurpledog 03-30-2019 04:45 AM

Your thread is an encouragement as I look at the queen size quilt laying on my sewing table ready to be quilted Today. I want to FMQ.

my-ty 03-30-2019 05:01 AM

Your FMQ is progressing and although you might see the oops, others don't or don't care about them. My FMQ is at the scribbling stage, and I struggle with "Why would I want to scribble all over my lovely quilt?". So you are miles ahead of me!