Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: This is what learning looks like

This is what learning looks like

I don't know about you but sometimes I get frustrated when I try my hand at something new and I'm not magically good at it. Especially since I've been quilting for 10 years or so. But I'm a newbie to FMQ and this is what starting at the beginning looks like:

Name:  20190330_070910.jpg
Views: 2631
Size:  341.6 KB

As I was going along I decide the first thing I need to master is consistent distance when echoing. Or, for me, keeping my eyes where they need to be instead of staring at the pretty needle. I managed something decent:

Name:  20190330_070939.jpg
Views: 2636
Size:  437.1 KB

I take my victories where I can. And as I practice I create mini quilts to donate to the animal shelter.

I'm about 5 hours into the 10,000 hours for mastery. Gotta start somewhere right?

Right! And you're doing a fine job. I'm still working on it. I find it to be very very very different from hand quilting!

Power Poster
    ​Looking good! I am loving my machine quilting with rulers on my Bernina. It has a learning curve too but so fun!

Your thread is an encouragement as I look at the queen size quilt laying on my sewing table ready to be quilted Today. I want to FMQ.
    Last edited by QuiltnNan; 03-30-2019 at 05:05 AM. Reason: shouting/all caps

Your FMQ is progressing and although you might see the oops, others don't or don't care about them. My FMQ is at the scribbling stage, and I struggle with "Why would I want to scribble all over my lovely quilt?". So you are miles ahead of me!