Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Pictures
Two Days / Two Quilts >

Two Days / Two Quilts

Two Days / Two Quilts

Old 09-11-2010, 07:39 PM

Hi All,

Thanks for critiquing my quilt pictures below. I'm still pretty new at quilting and taught myself everything at the "school of hard knocks" - no classes yet. My DH told me after work on Friday that he needed a baby quilt completed by Wed for a shower at work. Mini panic attack for someone who has only 1 baby quilt under her belt. The rest of my work has been small wall hangings. I was flattered that he liked my work enough to ask, but worried about time. So we went and selected fabric late last night (he has a good eye for color, since he does stained glass) and I started cutting. Theme for baby boy's room is jungle, so how lucky is it that we found a fabric to make a soft book about a guy taking pictures in an African jungle (perfect, huh?). Instead of making a book, I cut it up and added borders and made it into a 43x52 storybook quilt. I call it Bedtime Story. Sorry the pic is not a full one. Quilt holder was napping on the sofa and I wanted to email a friend a picture of the top, so I crammed it into the top dresser drawer and took what I could of it. It's actually 12 pages, not the 9 that show. Tomorrow I will sandwich and who knows when I'll quilt and bind - no ideas on what to do yet. Probably just SID (batting is warm and natural). Any ideas welcome.

The Abe Lincoln wall hanging is self designed and is for my 8 YO DGS for Christmas. Nobody knows more about Abe than he does - and his favorite thing this summer was to visit the Lincoln Memorial in DC. Go figure. I wish the fabric for the postcards had been sepia, because I think white is a little too much. Think I should use some fabric paint or leave well enough alone? I made it yesterday. This one is pretty small about 22 X 30 maybe (I did not measure).

Thus, 2 in 2. Abe yesterday. Baby quilt today.

Bedtime Story (partial & unquilted)