Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 26 to 50 of 50

Thread: UFO - Decisions, Decisions... opinions?

  1. #26
    Super Member Rose_P's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Dallas area, Texas, USA
    Posts
    2,068
    I like the star best, but maybe you should get your dad's opinion, unless it's going to be a surprise.

  2. #27
    Super Member nannyrick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Western New York
    Posts
    5,831
    Great work!!!
    so many quilts to make, so little time.

  3. #28
    Junior Member HilaryK8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    102
    Thanks guys! I'm torn between the star and maybe the diagonal. I don't know. I'll go up and rearrange them one more time. Here's the issue... I wanted to back it with the little red squares that are in the middle of each log cabin. I got the fabric so long ago I can't find it anywhere. I don't even know who makes it. Think it will matter if I back it and bind it with fabric that is similar but completely unrelated?

  4. #29
    Junior Member HilaryK8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    102
    Quote Originally Posted by Rose_P View Post
    I like the star best, but maybe you should get your dad's opinion, unless it's going to be a surprise.
    He has no idea I'm doing this for him. We don't talk much. That's why I'm taking my time finishing it! haha.

  5. #30
    Super Member DebbE's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    1,615
    Without a doubt, the 2nd row, middle...but then its not going to be my quilt. Take into consideration your dad, what type of personality he has and how his home is. If he is a man who likes order, I'd go for the 1st row, far right or 2nd row, middle. If he's artistic or likes things mixed up a bit, I'd go for the 1st row, middle, or the 2nd row, left. Please show us when you finish -- can't wait to see it done!

  6. #31
    Super Member burchquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Holmen, WI
    Posts
    7,330
    Quote Originally Posted by Tartan View Post
    I vote for the star. Great looking blocks!
    That gets my vote, too... especially since your Dad's room is RWB. I can't wait to see this one done!
    (`v)
    `*..*
    .
    .*).*)
    (.(. (..`..♥ rebecca

  7. #32
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1,807
    Blog Entries
    1
    The barn raising gets my vote. How wonderful your first quilt will go to your father-what an honor for both of you!

  8. #33
    Super Member Dolphyngyrl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    5,688
    top right or bottom left are my faves

  9. #34
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    NE Missouri
    Posts
    6,137
    Whatever you choose, it will be lovely and a feeling of accomplishment to get it finished.

  10. #35
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    So. CA
    Posts
    1,869
    That's the joy/curse of the log cabin block-so many choices. But, each choice makes a wonderful top. Keep auditioning your layouts and one will finally sing to you. Thanks for sharing.
    The bad news is - time flies.
    The good news is - you're the pilot!

  11. #36
    Super Member Phannie1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Just move back to Chattanooga, TN.
    Posts
    2,021
    I like the first. I have seen the others but I have not seen that layout before. That is why I like it.

  12. #37
    Senior Member MYWR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Mount Pleasant, TX
    Posts
    491
    Blog Entries
    1
    top right for me too - but whatever you decide on - it will be great ! -you can always number them - place the numbers on folded paper in a bowl and have someone else pick one - and there is the lay out - not what about a border ?? think about a thin red border with black on either side - that worked for me !! (my daughter's guest bedroom) GOOD LUCK

  13. #38
    Super Member alfosa421's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    up to my eyeballs in UFOs
    Posts
    2,345
    Blog Entries
    3
    I like the numberone and the number five layouts for a guy

  14. #39
    Super Member IBQUILTIN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    North Fork Ca
    Posts
    8,258
    Toss them on the bed, straighten them out and sew em together. It will be great no matter what you do

  15. #40
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Lebanon, PA
    Posts
    675
    My first choice is the star, bottom left or the top row, middle one.
    Diane

  16. #41
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Kansas City Kansas
    Posts
    306
    I love pinwheels so that's my choice!

  17. #42
    Senior Member fatsewcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    412
    Pinwheels or star are my vote.

  18. #43
    Senior Member debs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Riesel, TX ( HOT )
    Posts
    541
    all are great my fav is the first one!
    Debs Herold & Hemi (ADA Service Dog)

  19. #44
    Senior Member quiltingsavta's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Bridgewater MA
    Posts
    391
    This is why I love log cabnis. My vote is for the last one. Haven't seen this interpretation, so it's new to me.

  20. #45
    Super Member BizzieLizzie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    England
    Posts
    4,922
    I like them all! I like the 1st top left - triangular version looks interesting.
    Patchwork Crazy!!!

  21. #46
    Senior Member playswithcolor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    SC
    Posts
    479
    Love the star layout!

  22. #47
    Super Member Wunder-Mar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    1,272
    While all of them would work, the fact that your dad has a red, white and blue room makes me go straight-away for the star layout. I used this on a queen-size wedding quilt for my younger daughter and it's a show-stopper.

    If at first you don't succeed, skydiving is not for you.

  23. #48
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Mid-Michigan
    Posts
    12
    What a challenge for a first quilt, great job. I like top row, far right.
    Abby's mom

  24. #49
    nls
    nls is offline
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    2,632
    Center bottom is my vote!

  25. #50
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    13,135
    I like the center bottom!

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.