Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   General Chit-Chat (non-quilting talk) (https://www.quiltingboard.com/general-chit-chat-non-quilting-talk-f7/)
-   -   windows xp is (https://www.quiltingboard.com/general-chit-chat-non-quilting-talk-f7/windows-xp-t231090.html)

hamchips88 09-25-2013 01:31 PM

windows xp is

retiring in april sometime. so they say nothing will work so do not use it. thats great i have xp. :eek:

blimey 09-25-2013 02:30 PM

I have windows xp also. It is good enough for me and still plodding along. How will it affect xp owners when it is retired. I am really green when it comes to computers. I don't want to buy a new one.

hamchips88 09-25-2013 02:39 PM

it says you can add 1 gb of ram thats what mines need and you can upgrade some of the hard drive. i have about six months to do alot of research on this. i am new to computers too. look under windows xp and it will come up and you can go into site and download what your computer needs to get it ready for windows 8 or the like..

hamchips88 09-25-2013 02:41 PM

oh! and they say not to use xp cause it will not be protecting your computer anymore from viruses or anything

tessagin 09-25-2013 02:43 PM

Don't worry about right now. Just wait til you can't use it. I was told along time ago I couldn't use it and that's all I use. For about I don't know since started using computers. 2003.

mighty 09-25-2013 04:18 PM

What a bummer!!!

Lisa_wanna_b_quilter 09-25-2013 04:23 PM

You will still be able to use it. It will just no longer be supported by Windows. No new "fixes" will be released. Your anti-virus/anti-malware software should still protect you. New programs may not run on it, but unless you are doing software upgrades it will not be a problem for a long time.

Don't panic. Do some research. Many of the IT sites are recommending home computers just not worry about it.

cathyvv 09-25-2013 04:34 PM