Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 30

Thread: anyone else having a prob typing on this site?

  1. #1
    Senior Member Judi in Ohio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    668

    anyone else having a prob typing on this site?

    Funniest thing, when I type - only here, my letters show up a tad after I type, not like the usual; type, it's there. And this red line shows up and follows my word til it's complete. I miss spaces, letters, etc. Constantly correcting Of course I'm writing this and no prob, but its bee weeks like this. Is it something on my end?
    Judi in Ohio

  2. #2
    Super Member Dina's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    5,106
    I have never had that problem....and i hope you don't have it again! It sounds really irritating.

    Dina

  3. #3
    Power Poster ManiacQuilter2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    18,943
    I haven't noticed any problem and I have an older computer trunning XP.
    A Good Friend, like an old quilt, is both a Treasure and a Comfort

  4. #4
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    30,836
    ​I only have trouble typing on my iPad if another picture is loading.

  5. #5
    Super Member feline fanatic's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    9,000
    I have had some weird funky things happen recently when using Mozilla. Like the cursor doesn't show up. But it happens infrequently and if I get out of the topic and back in again, it acts fine. When using explorer the site was crashing on me quite a bit so i switched to Mozilla.

  6. #6
    Super Member luvTooQuilt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    A Hop from Heaven, a Skip from Sanity and a Jump from the Good Life....
    Posts
    7,115
    Blog Entries
    1
    I get a late curser.. ill type a word and the first two letters dont show up.. but i think im just an impatient one.. im always in hurry..

  7. #7
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    2,926
    This has been happening to me, too! I was considering asking this very question. Computer techs checked and said computer was clean---got it back home, and had missing letters all over again! Called them, and they said it must be a bad keyboard. Replaced that, still no change. It's very irritating, and so s--l--o--w! Has been happening for about a month or a month and a half (?). I keep doing Norton maintenance chores, which sometimes help a bit, sometimes not at all.

  8. #8
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Central NJ
    Posts
    4,737
    For me, it was happening using Internet Explorer as my browser. Not when using Mozilla Firefox. The red lines are indicative of a spellcheck functioning in the background somewhere - either on this site itself or the browser.

  9. #9
    Super Member Elisabrat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Cody, Wyoming
    Posts
    6,395
    think sometimes the server is slow perhaps on the quilting board as it doesn't happen on any other site for me. you type and cant see your letters. happens but thankfully not often.
    Linda
    Here today... why what a lucky bunch we are.

  10. #10
    Power Poster dunster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Lake Elsinore, CA
    Posts
    12,678
    In order to correct the problem, you can select the A/A in the left corner above the typing box before you start typing. Or you can go to settings and under General Account (left side of page) go down to Miscellaneous Options and for Message Editor Interface select Standard Editor. Previously I had Enhanced Interface selected, and it used to work fine, but something changed somewhere and now that option no longer performs correctly for me. Standard Editor works well though.

  11. #11
    Super Member MaryStoaks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    La Quinta, CA
    Posts
    3,925
    I have that problem! Only on the Quilting Board. Is it running very slow?
    Mary

  12. #12
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Corpus Christi, Tx.
    Posts
    15,953
    Blog Entries
    3
    Happens to me everyday when I get to a certain point. Usually when I move the cursor from one point to another to edit such as hit the delete button or if I backspace then try to use the delete. And that annoying red underscoring line. And yes when typing after that, it's like you have to hit the keys one letter really hard every time. I thought it was just me or my keyboard but it only happens on this board.

  13. #13
    Senior Member Judi in Ohio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    668
    I am trying the double A and it is working well. Why is that? What does it do?
    Judi in Ohio

  14. #14
    Senior Member Judi in Ohio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    668
    Yes, it is only on this site that I have problems. But the double a works - now to remember to use it.
    Judi in Ohio

  15. #15
    Senior Member mzzzquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Hudson, MI
    Posts
    666
    Blog Entries
    3
    If you're using IE, put it in compatibility mode from tools.
    MzzzQuilts aka Ellen

  16. #16
    Super Member thimblebug6000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    British Columbia
    Posts
    6,191
    I was having that problem along with other problems, and PatriceJ said to download AdBlockerPlus add-in..... since I have (touch wood) I haven't had any problems.

  17. #17
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    2,411
    Blog Entries
    3
    Judi, I have had your problem for about two months. It is so annoying and it wastes so much time.

  18. #18
    Super Member southernmema's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Central Georgia
    Posts
    1,233
    Me too....same problem. Only this site.

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    362
    Quote Originally Posted by feline fanatic View Post
    I have had some weird funky things happen recently when using Mozilla. Like the cursor doesn't show up. But it happens infrequently and if I get out of the topic and back in again, it acts fine. When using explorer the site was crashing on me quite a bit so i switched to Mozilla.
    I have been having Mozilla problems too. It is hurky jerky and slow. I went in and uninstalled several programs which were add-ons when I upgraded something. That helped. Also had so many popups I could hardly use my computer. Got rid of them too. What I know about computers would fit with room to spare on the head of a pin, so I hope I didn't uninstall anything important. My tech is OT for two weeks, so I decided to fix it myself!!! He may be in for a surprise. LOL

  20. #20
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    The Deep South near Cajun Country, USA
    Posts
    2,818
    Quote Originally Posted by dunster View Post
    In order to correct the problem, you can select the A/A in the left corner above the typing box before you start typing. Or you can go to settings and under General Account (left side of page) go down to Miscellaneous Options and for Message Editor Interface select Standard Editor. Previously I had Enhanced Interface selected, and it used to work fine, but something changed somewhere and now that option no longer performs correctly for me. Standard Editor works well though.
    I had the same problems with the slowness and only about half my letters typing. The fix Dunster talks about above works as a permanent fix. I had to figure it out on my own. Glad she was here to provide that info for you.
    Sew a Little, Love a Lot & Live like you were dying!

  21. #21
    Super Member cherrio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Ohio, the land of 4 seasons. sometimes all in the same week!
    Posts
    2,495
    I was having the same problem and ONLY here. it lasted a couple months. I was so frustrated that I stopped responding. It doesn't do that now. at least not this week . . . try fiddleing with the settings or contact a moderater on the site
    You never stand taller than when you stoop to help a child.

  22. #22
    Super Member Lisa_wanna_b_quilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    The middle of an IL cornfield
    Posts
    7,024
    Blog Entries
    1
    Happens to me all the time on Facebook. I end up restarting the computer and it seems to get happy.

  23. #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    665
    Yes, that happens to me on here all the time. It's like the first sentence or two is fine. And then it starts to bog down and can't keep up. It's so annoying.

  24. #24
    Super Member donnajean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Holland, PA
    Posts
    4,321
    I get to read fewer posts as moving from one post to aother is so slow. I don't think i is my computr as I don't have this issue on other sites. I just assumed that it was because there are so many ads on this site that are not on the others that I frequent.

  25. #25
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    784
    Thank you for asking that question...I use internet explorer and lately have found it just too frustrating to respond to posts recently. Typed this using Dunster's suggestion and things seem to be working better.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.