Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Using the Accuquilt Go to cut strips >

Using the Accuquilt Go to cut strips

Using the Accuquilt Go to cut strips

Old 09-23-2015, 02:05 PM
  #11  
Power Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Southern California
Posts: 19,131
Default

I remember someone on the board found that her's had bent. Just be careful with how you store this one.
ManiacQuilter2 is offline  
Old 09-23-2015, 02:56 PM
  #12  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Yorkville, IL
Posts: 7,639
Default

I use mine for strips and I love it. They are straight and it is fast! Also if I want 2 1/2" squares I just lay the strips crossways and there are the squares! I have the 2", the 1 1/2" and the 2 1/2". I am thinking of getting the 3 and or 4" strips as well. I vote to GO for it!
luvstoquilt is offline  
Old 09-23-2015, 03:23 PM
  #13  
Super Member
 
caspharm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Nevada
Posts: 6,958
Default

I use the strips and have also done the squares with the strip die.
caspharm is offline  
Old 09-23-2015, 03:55 PM
  #14  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Mabank, Texas
Posts: 8,780
Default

I love my strip dies. You can cut a whole lot of strips that are very accurate in a very short period of time. I have not tried cutting the strips into squares but i don't see why it wouldn't work.
BETTY62 is offline  
Old 09-24-2015, 02:50 AM
  #15  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lubbock, TX
Posts: 376
Default

I have the Studio and all but two of the strip dies (waiting for the next sale! LOL). I'm new to AccuQuilt and had read n Amazon review some time back, claiming strip dies were a waste of money because you could rotary cut as quickly as you could die cut. So not true! The strip dies have so made a difference in my cutting time . . .and cross cutting with the strip dies even speeds it up that much more. Squares, rectangles, diamonds . . .so glad I finally took the plunge!
ClairVoyantQuilter is offline  
Old 09-24-2015, 03:42 AM
  #16  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 540
Default

I have all sizes of the Go strip dies. I use the 6 1/2" one for borders. I am thinking about getting a custom die made for 2 1/4" strip die with the ends cut on the angle for binding.
fruitloop is offline  
Old 09-24-2015, 03:54 AM
  #17  
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Russellville AR
Posts: 1,942
Default

I have the Studio, and all of the strip dies. The strip dies are fabulous! Not only are they more accurate and faster, but you can turn the strips sideways and cut squares.
cjtinkle is offline  
Old 09-24-2015, 03:55 AM
  #18  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 160
Default

I don't have an Accu Quilt but have a Sissix. For me it is too time consuming to line the fabric up correctly to cut.. I much prefer my Stripology ruler -I can have several strips cut with the ruler in the time it takes to line up the fabric on the Sissix. And, I can cut a multitude of squares in a matter of minutes with the ruler. Good luck on your decision.
KittyD is offline  
Old 09-24-2015, 06:32 AM
  #19  
Super Member
 
luvstoquilt301's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 1,018
Default

I adore mine. I have 3 strip sizes. I cut the fabric 8 1/2 and then run it through the machine. It leaves small strips about 1/4 on both sides. I have lots of uses for those narrow strips. I put 3 chunks down if the fabric is on the thin side. 2 sections if it is thick.

I use the 2 1/2 the most on every single quilts for binding.
luvstoquilt301 is offline  
Old 09-24-2015, 07:06 AM
  #20  
Power Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 11,161
Default

I have the Sizzix Big Shot Pro (similar to the Accuquilt Studio but a different brand) I have most of the strip dies but have yet to use them. I do use the strips that have the cut squares etc. on them all the time. I am organizing fabrics now and plan to make some strip quilts using 1 1/2 inch strip dies to cut strips from my scraps. I normally cut strips using the June Tailor shape cutter. Maybe I just need time to transition. It just seems when it is time to cut a strip it is easier and less wasteful to do it on the shape cutter. Now maybe if I was doing many strips I would use the dies. I have my die cutter now for just a couple of months so it might be all a transition point and I need time but I use the cutter all the time to cut triangles, flying geese and squares to make blocks. Just not for strips so far.
Annaquilts is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
justflyingin
Pictures
23
11-25-2014 12:42 PM
SmickChick
Main
8
10-17-2012 12:35 AM
craftybear
Links and Resources
1
08-10-2011 12:37 PM
wildyard
Main
104
02-10-2011 09:32 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter