Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main > For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
I may be buying a new-to-me 99K :) >

I may be buying a new-to-me 99K :)

I may be buying a new-to-me 99K :)

Old 05-05-2012, 04:33 AM

Default I may be buying a new-to-me 99K :)

I found one nearby and I plan to check it out this afternoon! Seller states that "machine was serviced Oct 2011 ($70) (receipt available showing service received)" and is in "perfect working condition". She is asking $100 which includes the wood cabinet which has been painted.

I am completely new to Vintage machines (even though I do have my Mother-in-law's treadle that I hope to restore some day) and I would greatly appreciate any words of wisdom or suggestions to what to look for or ask when I look at the machine. Thanks in advance!
Old 05-05-2012, 06:02 AM

Take thread and fabric with you and test the machine. Sometimes "service" doesn't count....as in the case of the local guy to me...his skills are less than mine, and I don't have any!!

Once you've made sure the machine works properly, make an offer on it. Less, of course than the $100 she's asking for. I'd probably offer the $70, so she at least gets her money back from taking it in for service that she could have done herself... ~wink~ The cabinet lost value when they painted it, altho cabinets to fit the 3/4 machines are harder to come by. If you really want it, and she insists, pay the $100...you'll still have a better machine than anything you could buy retail in today's market, and you'll love using it!
Old 05-05-2012, 06:03 AM

Oh...and for that much money, if the decals and finish on the machine aren't PERFECT, I'd still pass... there are too many nice machines out there....
Old 05-05-2012, 07:17 AM

Sounds like a good deal!
Old 05-05-2012, 07:37 AM