Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Top Tips for a New Quilter... what would you tell a newbie? >

Top Tips for a New Quilter... what would you tell a newbie?

Top Tips for a New Quilter... what would you tell a newbie?

Old 10-06-2013, 07:39 PM
Eri

Default Top Tips for a New Quilter... what would you tell a newbie?

I'm going to be teaching my son's girlfriend to cut and piece a small quilt this week... she's never even touched a sewing machine before. I don't want to overwhelm her with tons of information all at once, but obviously she needs the basics... things many of us take for granted after a while.

If you were going to teach a complete newbie to cut and machine piece (we're going to hold off on actually quilting the sandwich for now!), what are some top tips you'd give? I'm hoping to make her a brief, introductory "top-ten" cheat-sheet with the wisdom of those who have been there.

Thanks!
Old 10-06-2013, 08:05 PM

First, introduce her to the machine and all the working parts. Teach her what the hand wheel can do, proper way to load the bobbin, how to take the bobbin and bobbin case out and look inside the lower end for fluff, how to tell the front from the back of the needle ... and why they are shaped the way they are, what the tensioner does ... and doesn't do if the presser foot isn't down, show her how the feed dogs move, show her just a few different presser feet and why they are different and what they may be used for, and of course how to wind a bobbin and thread the machine.