Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main > For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
Singer Model 101, a Model 15 and First Attachment Find! >

Singer Model 101, a Model 15 and First Attachment Find!

Singer Model 101, a Model 15 and First Attachment Find!

Old 10-22-2013, 06:06 PM

Default Singer Model 101, a Model 15 and First Attachment Find!

I posted a bit about the machine I'm trying to get running for my daughter in the Intros section. It's a Singer Model 101 That I've had in storage at my parents' house for the last 20+ years. I oiled it up and ran a few test stiches. I'm still trying to adjust it for a decent looking stitch. Looks like it may be the top tension is still too loose, could be operator error too. I'm a complete newbee to sewing and sewing machines. The only other issue is a missing cover plate for the bobbin. Anyone have any advice on the stitching issue and does anyone know if the cover MUST be from a 101 or will others fit as well?

I bought the machine at a garage sale over 20 years ago so I could restore the cabinet on it, not necessarily to sew with. Now our daughter Olivia is 10 and has expressed a strong interest in sewing so she and I are bringing the machine back to life and will be learning to sew together.