Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
how to make a warmer quilt?? >

how to make a warmer quilt??

how to make a warmer quilt??

Old 03-06-2014, 11:33 AM

Default how to make a warmer quilt??

I am making a queen size quilt and will be quilting it FMQ using QAYG in sections.. I have the top done and now need to figure out how to make a warm quilt as it will be going to Minn. I bought warm and natural but this seems so thin, I have never used it before, does it make a warmer quilt? I was also thinking of using for the backing fleece and batting of some kind, but didn't know how that would work using QAYG..and if there would be a big seam and would be hard to join the sections together.

Does anyone know how to make this quilt warmer and still be able to do the Fm quilting with QAYG sections..What kind of batting and backing would you use to make a warm quilt... Thank you
Old 03-06-2014, 11:35 AM

i use wool batting and flannel backing.

those quilts are significantly warmer than the cotton/flannel and cotton/cotton quilts.

the wool batts are a dream to work with.

aileen
Old 03-06-2014, 11:52 AM

I think less quilting = warmer quilt because it allows for more "fluff" and fluff = air which = insulation which = warmer. Also, have you ever held a finished quilt up to the light and seen all the little "holes" each machine stitch leaves....don't think those keep you warm !! Just my humble opinion.
Old 03-06-2014, 11:59 AM
Power Poster

Wool! You can use a layer of warm & natural, then a layer of wool for extra extra warmth. The wool batt goes against the top. The added benefit is that your quilting will really pop! I've read this combo is often used for show quilts. To me the top is not too heavy with the 2 batts. I quilt with a medium density pattern.
Old 03-06-2014, 12:03 PM

stillclock... would I have to wash the batting and backing if I used wool and flannel? also does the wool batting cost a lot?