Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Embroidery Machines >

Embroidery Machines

Embroidery Machines

Old 09-03-2009, 11:00 AM

Hi Everyone,
I have been reading the message board for quite a while and have really enjoyed all of the comments and topics. I am new to the quilting world and I enjoy learning and viewing the projects that you all have made. I would like some feedback on Embroidery machines. I am looking for a not - so expensive embroidery maching - somewhere around $500.00. I have seen (online) the Brother machine and also the Janome (embroidery only). I am open for suggestions. I do not want to spend thousands of dollars and I don't need thousands of stitches. Any Ideas?
Thanks so much, Jane
Old 09-03-2009, 11:07 AM

I purchased the Brother SE350 in March from Amazon.com and LOVE it I suggest you get the PED basic right away to download designs off the internet they have the machine for 379.00 and PE Basic is 119.00. I use it almost every day and it sews great, Lots of free designs on the internet, I have a few thousand downloaded now.
I had it in 2 days from the day I ordered too!

http://www.quiltingboard.com/posts/list/17748.page
Old 09-03-2009, 11:11 AM

In my experience the machine is just the beginning. There is special thread, stabilizers and of course designs. Any machine will come with some basic stuff like different fonts for alphabets. It will probably have a number of designs for labels and a smattering of different subjects. Once you get into embroidery designs it is like M&Ms you can't eat just one. I probably have $2000 tied up in additional designs. I would be willing to bet that I have not used more than 25% of them. Like everything else the techknowledgey keeps changing and there is always something new. Be prepared to become addicted.
Old 09-03-2009, 11:19 AM