Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Sewing machine throat space >

Sewing machine throat space

Sewing machine throat space

Old 09-27-2014, 06:12 AM

Default Sewing machine throat space

I'm new to quilting and so far have just worked on a 35 year old Kenmore machine that is sadly lacking in many ways. I'm thinking of buying the Janome M1250Q:
https://janome-sah.com/sewing-machines/juno-m1250q.html

It is supposedly designed for quilting and comes with a "quilting kit" but the throat space is only about 7-8 inches as far as I can tell from the website pics. Do you think it is possible to make a bed sized quilt on this machine?
Old 09-27-2014, 06:35 AM

I think your asking about "quilting" the top, not just piecing the top. The measurements you listed isn't very much, I suggest you roll up a blanket or quilt you have and wiggle it under your current machine to give you a point of reference .......calla
Old 09-27-2014, 06:39 AM
Power Poster

Depending on the size of the quilt would determine the ease of quilting. Obviously the larger the quilt the more difficulty but only because it maybe a little cumbersome. I've done a crib and lap throw on mine (a Singer) with 6" and my 401 is only 6". Look at the manual and see what it says. I am looking into larger throat but am anticipating QAYG (quilt as you go) for a couple others. I'll see how a twin works then decide if I need to get something with a larger throat. I will shop locally so I can be hands on with the machine.
Old 09-27-2014, 06:40 AM
Power Poster

Originally Posted by calla View Post
I think your asking about "quilting" the top, not just piecing the top. The measurements you listed isn't very much, I suggest you roll up a blanket or quilt you have and wiggle it under your current machine to give you a point of reference .......calla
I never thought about this. Thanks for the tip.
Old 09-27-2014, 06:41 AM