Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
question about quilting the sashing and borders with a longarm >

question about quilting the sashing and borders with a longarm

question about quilting the sashing and borders with a longarm

Old 02-25-2015, 08:54 PM

Default question about quilting the sashing and borders with a longarm

I am new to longarm quilting and have my first real quilt loaded. The blocks are done, but how do I do the sashing? Do I do the horizontal sashing first, remove the quilt and reload it so the vertical sashings are now horizontal??? I'm struggling with the idea of trying to keep the design fairly even if I have to scoot the quilt up as I go. Does this make sense???
Old 02-25-2015, 08:57 PM

Makes perfect sense. When I don't do an overall pattern, I do the top and bottom borders when I get to them then turn the quilt so that the sides become the top and bottom. I'm sure there are other ways to do it, but that's what I do.
Old 02-26-2015, 01:44 AM

If it's not a simple pattern (i.e. straight lines, criss-crosses, etc.) then turn the qult. If I'm doing mine as I'm advancing instead of removing and turning the quilt I always take a picture of the quilting I did on the top border. - especially if it's ruler work. I can't tell you how many times I've gotten to the bottom border and forgotten how I quilted that top border!
Old 02-26-2015, 05:41 AM
Power Poster

What Cindi said. If it takes me more than a day to do a quilt, I'll get to the bottom border & then wonder what the heck I did on the top. I'm sort of a Rambo quilter & don't mark much, just sort of go with it. I know that some quilters are talented enough where they don't have to turn the quilt to get the side borders, but if I'm doing something wavy, like a long feather, I have to turn it. I do the sashing as I go, although sometimes I wait until the end & go back & fill in the sashing, but I've never done blocks larger than the depth of my quilter, so I can get all those without turning.