Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Need some help Please... again ! >

Need some help Please... again !

Need some help Please... again !

Old 06-11-2016, 11:12 AM

Default Need some help Please... again !

All right guys and gals... I have been working on my Alpine Cross quilt, the red, white and black one. Last night was the worst night ever for me and that pattern. My HST's are not turning out right, I measure, remeasure, then cut the fabric, but the fabric is NOT co-operating. Is there any trick to getting HST's to turn out RIGHT?

Thanks in advance everyone

Jo
Old 06-11-2016, 11:23 AM

Make a little bigger than required and trim down?
Old 06-11-2016, 11:23 AM
Power Poster

That is what I have to do also. I am not that good at it, so this works for me.
Old 06-11-2016, 11:52 AM
Power Poster

There are many different ways to make HST's. How are you doing it? Are you first cutting triangles and then sewing the triangles together? Or are you cutting squares first, sewing twice down the center, and then cutting? Or.....?

If you are doing either of the two above methods, I would advise starching the fabric as heavily as possible before cutting the triangles or squares. This stabilizes the fabric so it is much less likely to stretch or distort while you are sewing and pressing.

Cutting over-sized and then trimming down is very accurate, but it does add some time to the process. If I were using this method for making lots of HST's, I would invest in the appropriate size Bloc Loc ruler: http://blocloc.com/

My current favorite method for making HST's is to cut triangles using the Accuquilt Go! The Go cuts very accurately and lops off the "dog ears", making matching up the ends very easy. I do not pre-wash my fabric so I don't have to starch, as there is enough sizing in the fabric already to keep the triangles stable once they are cut.