Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > General Chit-Chat (non-quilting talk)
Advice for soon to be first time Grandparents >

Advice for soon to be first time Grandparents

Advice for soon to be first time Grandparents

Old 07-02-2016, 01:57 PM

Default Advice for soon to be first time Grandparents

Our oldest dd is due in a few months and I'd like to know what is your best advice for new first time grandparents to be? I don't know how much they'll let us be in their lives, but I'd like to be as knowledgeable as possible.

I do have a higher baseline of knowledge with regards to the first 3 days after birth (I'm a labor and delivery nurse), but beyond that, it's been ~17 years since I've taken part in a newborn's life. And that wasn't from the grand parents point of view.

What's your best advice?
Old 07-02-2016, 03:08 PM
Power Poster

let her know you're thre to help a much as is needed. but don't be too pushy, like a miss know it all. It i her child, and doesn't want to be told what to do. As the baby gets older, again it's her's to discipline, don't interrupt too much. Don't undermine her is what I'm trying to ay. Let her know you were a delivery nurse, and see what she wants from there. good luck and congratulations.
Old 07-02-2016, 03:12 PM

Also, a lot has changed n the last 17 years, so you might want her to take the lead and let you know how she wants things done. Just let her know you're there for her and the new baby. Congratulations!
Old 07-02-2016, 05:31 PM

Location: Piedmont Virginia in the Foothills of the Blue Ridge Mtns.

You might share with her that you want to 'update' your baby skills for this new little one and ask her advice about what she'd like to to know, to read, sites to visit, stores to visit. I an only imagine she'd be so pleased you want to do such for them.

Jan in VA
Old 07-02-2016, 05:45 PM
Power Poster

As a Grandmother to six, ages 29 -14 Yrs old. Great Grandmother to 4.