Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
military uniforms >

military uniforms

military uniforms

Old 07-19-2016, 05:47 AM

Default military uniforms

I have been Googling for a long time and can not find a definitive answer to this question.
Can military uniforms be cut up and used in a quilt? Can insignias be incorporated in a quilt?
Thank you for any help on this question.
Old 07-19-2016, 05:52 AM
Power Poster

Yes, just about anything can be made into a quilt if you are willing to work with it.
Old 07-19-2016, 05:55 AM

There is nothing sacrosanct about the uniforms unlike the American flag itself. As a veteran, i'd suggest that medals, and combat ribbons would only be appropriate in a wall quilt honoring the person's service but that the insignia of rank and time served could be used in a more general quilt.
Old 07-19-2016, 06:04 AM
Power Poster

When my Dad came back from WWII, he didn't want to see his uniform again. His mother's sister (who taught me how to quilt) cut it up and used it in a braided rug that I believe is still in the small living room (since the farm probably is being farmed by their grandchildren).
Old 07-19-2016, 07:09 PM

Yes, I have 2 quilt buddies that made quilts from grandson and son's uni's--both said it was a chore--they ripped out the seams (which are sewn in a way that never come apart!), cut and then piece and they did incorporate some insigna--both were for wall hangings. One said that the fabric for the uni's is very "durable" and little harder to cut. But both made some awesome quilts.
Old 07-20-2016, 03:00 AM

Originally Posted by riutzelj View Post
There is nothing sacrosanct about the uniforms unlike the American flag itself. As a veteran, i'd suggest that medals, and combat ribbons would only be appropriate in a wall quilt honoring the person's service but that the insignia of rank and time served could be used in a more general quilt.