Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Please help me.. I have absolutely no idea! >

Please help me.. I have absolutely no idea!

Please help me.. I have absolutely no idea!

Old 12-29-2016, 12:57 AM

Default Please help me.. I have absolutely no idea!

My mother passed away from cancer in 2014, and I inherited her sewing machine. I'm only 28 and really have no idea what I'm doing.. I'm a nurse with no sewing experience, but I'd like to make my two adopted ex-racing greyhounds some dog beds and eventually sew minor things.

Anyway, the machine is a hardly used Pfaff tiptronic 2040. I've figured out how to thread and load the bobbin, and hand thread the needle as I can't figure out the needle threaded thing, but the problem I keep having is it's not sewing...

The needle keeps unthreading itself as soon as it starts moving, and then the bobbin thread stuff gets itself knotted up..

I'm incredibly embarrassed asking such silly questions, but I'd love to just get it to sew a straight line..

Thank you if you've got this far!!
Old 12-29-2016, 01:52 AM

I'm sorry about your mom. Craftsy is a great site with tutorials. If you get any of them you can jot notes and it bookmarks them. That way you can refer to them at any time.

Here's a link to your manual if you don't have one. Read through this and then you can refer to it.
https://www.google.com/#q=pfaff+tipt...ner%27s+manual

Here is a link to my Google search for Youtube videos on how to sew using a machine.
https://www.google.com/#q=youtube+ho...sewing+machine

Your top thread (the one through the needle)......when you start sewing you have to hold that thread until you get going.

I wonder with your bobbin if it's in upside-down.

I hope this helps!
Old 12-29-2016, 02:08 AM

Thank you! I've looked through the manual.. If I hold the top thread it still pulls from my hand..
Will try again in the morning with the bobbin in the other way!
thank you
Old 12-29-2016, 02:44 AM