Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Foundation piecing - fussy cut - tricksy placement >

Foundation piecing - fussy cut - tricksy placement

Foundation piecing - fussy cut - tricksy placement

Old 07-19-2017, 12:08 AM

Default Foundation piecing - fussy cut - tricksy placement

Does anyone have a good technique for placing irregular elements in foundation piecing? I have some experience with the method but one bit is proving really tricky.

I am working on the Take Wing pattern by Lillyella (https://lillyella.com/2015/03/09/tak...now-available/) which I am really enjoying. The tricky bit is on the wing tip, which is made from a very irregular triangle. I have fabric with a specific part I want to include, but am getting very muddled with right side/wrong side/which way to flip etc. And being a butterfly, there's two wings so they need to mirror image each other.

Previously I have relied on the method outlined by Lee Heinrich (https://weallsew.com/how-to-make-paper-piecing-easy/) - folding the paper back behind to make the correct placement. But the wing tips are deep in the middle of the unit so that method is no help.

It's embarrassing to admit how much time/fabric I've wasted but I'm really determined to solve this!

Many thanks
Old 07-19-2017, 01:33 AM

Can you cut a very large over-sized piece of the fabric and still retain the element that you want to include? Even with paper piecing, when adding your next piece of fabric it is still going to be right sides together. You just need to make sure there is enough fabric. I usually place my piece of fabric (RS together) behind the paper, then pin on the stitching line and flip the paper back to make sure I a) have enough fabric where it needs to be; b) have the proper element where I want it.

Hope that helps. It's a really neat pattern, btw!
Old 07-19-2017, 03:37 AM
Power Poster

very nice pattern... hope you get it solved quickly... NJQuilter gave some great advice
Old 07-19-2017, 05:44 AM