Singer 15-91 and FMQ

Old 03-06-2018, 07:37 AM

Smile Singer 15-91 and FMQ

I just got a 1953 15-91 can I use this for FMQ? tension issues? Or should I used a newer machine.......just got it used HV 870Q? Can you tell me about your experience FMQ on a 15-91? Thanks!

Brittany (O:
Old 03-06-2018, 09:04 AM

I've never used it for FMQ, but it can be done. The screw circled in yellow will let you drop the feed dogs.

Hopefully your machine is in much better shape.[ATTACH=CONFIG]590315[/ATTACH]
Attached Thumbnails 15-91-bottom-bad-bobbin-feed-dog-screw.-b.jpg  
Old 03-06-2018, 09:12 AM

Welcome to the board! I actually bought my 15-91 specifically for FMQ. So far I have FMQed two quilts on it and didn't have any problems. I have been quilting for about 10 years now and I always dreaded shoving quilts through tiny throat spaces on my newer Wal-Mart/ Costco Brother machine. With the 15-91 I loved the whole quilting proccess. I used a 90/14 universal needle, nothing fancy, and set my top tension around 7. I had my bottom tension around the 1 o'clock position. I used 30wt thread and 100% polyester batting. The pressure on the presser foot is adjustable too. Of course yours may be different depending on what loft and fiber content of batting you use. I love my 15-91 and will never quilt again with out it.
Old 03-06-2018, 09:21 AM