Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Quilt backs? >

Quilt backs?

Quilt backs?

Old 03-28-2018, 12:59 PM

Default Quilt backs?

I can't be the only one that has a hard time doing the backs? I haven't been quilting but for maybe 3 to 4 years, I can do the fronts from patterns, but when it comes to doing the backs I am so ready to give it all up. I so wish the patterns artists would put instructions for the back in detail. I am such an instruction person.

I could just do a plain back but I like the looks of the quilt backs with a bit of a design to them, that's where I get in trouble, I am not a designer that is for sure.

Maybe I should just make 2 fronts and sew them together, it would sure be less stressing. LOL!!

Thanks for your help, Roseanna
Old 03-28-2018, 03:23 PM
Power Poster

`By the time I am done with the top the last thing I want to do is piece a backing. I don't mind having to add more of the backing if it comes up short. So I prefer a whole back.
Old 03-28-2018, 03:27 PM

I tend to do 8" or so strips that compliment the front of the quilt, plus border. I'm not a "pro" by any stretch of the imagination, but that' my unprofessional answer. Sometimes I also use a UFO for my quilt backing , or a Solid color to avoid a lot of confusion!
Old 03-28-2018, 04:11 PM

I think there is a class on Craftsy about doing quilt backs. Wait for a sale and purchase it.
Old 03-28-2018, 04:14 PM

The easiest back for me to make is extra blocks from the front in a column. I don't center it I like to go off to one side for variety. I like it because I hate to try to match seams on the back. This way, I can take a 42 w back and expand it with pattern. DH likes the backs better.
Old 03-28-2018, 04:19 PM

Making a back with some piecing/strips/blocks is not hard for me. The hard part is getting the backing straight so it doesn't look off kilter. It takes a bit of practice. I've only made a couple with designs on the back.
Old 03-28-2018, 04:26 PM