Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Introduce Yourself
New to Quilting and the Board :) >

New to Quilting and the Board :)

New to Quilting and the Board :)

Old 05-13-2018, 10:23 PM

Default New to Quilting and the Board :)

Hello everyone! I am new to quilting, and this group. I think I have all the supplies I need to get started and want to learn a little more before I start cutting up my fabric and oiling my sewing machine!

Do you wash your whole bundle of fabric before you start cutting? I saw somewhere else that it was highly suggested when working with cotton to wash it before you start the project.

How do you revise sizing? I found a really cute pattern but it is the size for a baby and I want a little bit larger of a quilt.
Old 05-14-2018, 01:42 AM

Hello and welcome from Oregon!

i personally haven’t been prewashing my fabrics, in part, because I’m using precuts. Jelly rolls etc.

im not sure about resizing and will be curious to see what our more experienced quilters say.
Old 05-14-2018, 02:04 AM

Welcome from North Carolina.

I don't prewash, but I don't make those wonderful quilts that go to shows and/or hang on walls. I love to see them though and wish I had that kind of talent. You've come to the right place to get all your questions answered.
Old 05-14-2018, 02:40 AM
Power Poster

Welcome from western NY and happy quilting
Old 05-14-2018, 03:10 AM

Welcome from NJ. You'll get many different answers on whether to wash or not. It really is personal preference but highly recommended for red or other highly saturated colors. I prewash everything.

As to making your quilt larger, the easiest way is to just make more blocks! Re-sizing blocks is a bit trickier depending on the pattern.

Good luck with your project. Remember, it's not a race. Take your time and have fun.
Old 05-14-2018, 03:59 AM