Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Quilting with embroidery designs. >

Quilting with embroidery designs.

Quilting with embroidery designs.

Old 11-21-2019, 07:05 AM

Default Quilting with embroidery designs.

I am brand new to machine embroidery and hope to use some of my machine's installed designs as well as some imported from the internet to complete unfinished works. I find that most YouTube videos or tutorials address unassembled quilt blocks for embroidery within a hoop. My closet contains several quilt tops already assembled; two of these are already sandwiched. Other than fmq or a walking foot, how can I use my existing designs since I have assembled quilt tops and can't hoop each block?
Old 11-21-2019, 07:31 AM

We have people here who do so many amazing things. I was recently given a modern machine after quilting most of the last 20 years on a machine older than I am, but I've been seeing things at quilt expos and such of the machines that do quilting designs. It's all beyond my comprehension but I am also very clever at fitting in fabric under machines and managed to quilt a king sized quilt (just simple grids) on my little old vintage machine.

Did you get your machine from a sewing machine shop that offers classes especially in support of your machine? Often included in maintenance contracts, or paid classes.

Chances are good someone here has and uses your model so it would help if you said specifically what you have.
Old 11-21-2019, 07:41 AM

I have made many many embroidered designs and made applique pieces and put them onto already assembled quilt tops. They work great with crazy quilts especially. I recently made a quilt that the fabric failed on after washing and people here suggested applique pieces to cover the failed parts. Great Idea for your quilt tops too.
Old 11-21-2019, 08:00 AM