Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 36

Thread: Rhonda's Electric Quilt Class - Week 4 - Scanning Fabric

  1. #1
    Power Poster Rhonda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Salem Iowa
    Posts
    15,772
    Blog Entries
    50

    Rhonda's Electric Quilt Class - Week 4 - Scanning Fabric

    EQ5/EQ6/EQ7 Classes - Scanning Fabric



    Today we will look at scanning fabric. So make sure you have your scanner ready.

    The steps are not hard.

    Overview:
    Iron fabric
    Lay fabric on scanner screen.
    Close lid (it's ok if your fabric won't let the lid close all the way)

    Click on Start on your computer
    Click on Control Panel
    Click on Scanner


    A scanner wizard will pop up.
    Click next

    In your manual you will find this lesson on
    EQ5 on pg 158-159/ EQ6 on pge 139 / EQ7 on page 57



    Here is what I have. Yours will probably look similar.




    Click on preview and let it run a preview.


    If you see any white or black around the edge make sure you crop out all but the fabric.
    Anything you leave in the picture will show up in EQ when you go to use the picture

    If your fabric is not laying straight now is the time to fix it.
    Click on Custom Settings

    You should see something like this. It doesn't matter if yours looks differant- you are looking for the resolution. You need to change it to 75 DPI. Check the manual of your scanner if you can't find the resolution. Then click on next.






    make sure for EQ5 you change it to bitmap or bmp

    EQ6 and EQ7 will take a jpg file and other files but EQ5 will only allow a bitmap file to be used.

    Make sure you choose a file in your computer that you know how to find after you are done scanning the fabric in. I chose to title it EQ Fabrics. In my own files I used 6 differant files and put brown fabrics in one file/ red in one file/ black in one file etc. You can choose to organize your files any way you like. Just make sure you know where they are.





    Cropping your picture to 225 x 225 will save room in your memory for more pictures but you don't have to crop it to get the picture to show up right.

    Click on next and you will go on to the window where it will scan your fabric.


    When it is done scanning click on next.


    You will now have the window where you can click on finish and be done.


    It will take you to the file where your fabric was added.


    But if you are going to scan more fabric you can click on back instead of finish and it will take you back to the window where you can preview your pic. So replace your fabric in y our scanner and now you can do the scan again on another fabric. continue to do this til you have added all the fabric you want to do.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Using the Fabric Library in your EQ:


    1. Click on Library in the top tool bar








    2. Click on Fabric Library









    3. Click on Import








    4. Find your file in your computer

    5. Click on the fabric you want and then click on open

    6. Click on (EQ5) copy (EQ6) add to sketchbook (EQ7) add to sketchbook










    7. When done close out window




    Now you should be able to see your fabrics in your palette.

    They are always added to the right side at the end of your palette.




    If you don't see your newly added fabrics open up your sketchbook and click on Fabrics.

    Scroll all the way to the right and you should see them there. After you do this then they should now show up in your palette. You will have to scroll all the way to the right of the palette to see the new fabrics.





    Next week we will look at more ways to use the sketchbook



  2. #2
    Super Member Annya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Queensland Australia
    Posts
    1,387
    I have done a few fabrics so I can see what they look like in the quilt block I have designed. I did go to the information tapes and go until I found out how to do it right. I know there are many like me who area little illiterate when coming to new things and how they work. Thanks for your tutorial, Annya

  3. #3
    Power Poster Rhonda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Salem Iowa
    Posts
    15,772
    Blog Entries
    50
    Oops ran out of time to add the PDF. Here it is:

    EQ Classes - Week 4 - Scanning Fabric.pdf

  4. #4
    Senior Member stitchengramie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Allegan, MI
    Posts
    767
    Some fabric that have stripes in them need to be scanned on an angel. If not the image is distorted.
    "Our deeds determine us as much as we determine our deeds" George Eliot

  5. #5
    Junior Member d.swindle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    west csntral arkansas, Mount Ida
    Posts
    231
    up early ,thanks for the tut, another great one,you would have made a wonderful school teacher,you are so easy to follow.

    d.swindle

  6. #6
    Senior Member peppermint31's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Iowa, Preston
    Posts
    473
    thank you, thank you, thank you sooooo much. I tried to scan fabrics when I first got EQ6 and it didn't work so I didn't try again til now. I followed your instructions step by step and it worked yipee!!!!
    Patricia

  7. #7
    Super Member klgreene's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Clovis, NM
    Posts
    2,494
    Well I'll be, simple as that, Thanks Rhonda, I've been trying to do that for a long time. Love these classes. Now I'll probably scan in all my fabrics LOL

    Katie
    "Impossible is an opinion, not a fact" Cameron Clapp

    http://signatures.mylivesignature.co...47687D2C18.png

  8. #8
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    42,530
    Blog Entries
    43
    thanks again, Rhonda, for another very good tut
    Nancy in western NY
    before you speak THINK
    T is it True? H is it Helpful? I is it Inspiring? N is it Necessary? K is it Kind?


  9. #9
    Super Member Anael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    4,537
    Thanks Rhonda for all the wonderful tuts! For some strange reason I don't see pictures here but I see them in the PDF file.
    Eat, quilt, sleep, repeat



  10. #10
    Power Poster Rhonda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Salem Iowa
    Posts
    15,772
    Blog Entries
    50
    You're welcome everyone!

    Katie - most of this is easy it is just a matter of knowing the steps.

    D. Swindle thanks for the compliment. I went to college to be an elementary teacher but I quit school and got married and had kids instead. LOL I was always lecturing my kids about this or that and my DD would say Mom quit lecturing! I just hate to see someone struggle if I can help. I love my EQ and think it is terrific and want you all to appreciate the possibilites in it.

    When people say to me I could never do what you do-- I think yes you can if you know the tricks of the trade. What I do isn't magic it is just one step at a time til you get what you are trying to do.

    I dont' go into my EQ with an idea of what I am going to design. I start with a simple block and then add more of them play with turning them and adding color and the program itself comes up with all these differant looks.

    I hope you all can appreciate and enjoy the fun of playing with your EQ!

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Omaha
    Posts
    107
    Thanks Rhonda for another wonderful lesson. It makes me feel good that I can now do some of the things I was hoping to do when I bought this program. You are a great teacher! Manuals are good if you know what you want to do and what it is called. I wear out lots of indexes looking for what I need. And I learn best by doing or seeing it done. Do you know if we
    can scan in a pattern block or quilt and use that in EQ somehow? Another thing I'd like to learn. Thanks again!

  12. #12
    Super Member BonniFeltz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Dekalb, IL
    Posts
    1,871
    Thanks Rhonda. I will print this out and use it. I had figured out how to do some of it but not the "proper" way. LOL. Scanning in fabric was one reason I bit the bullet and bought EQ7 in the first place. So I could see how it looks with the fabrics that I bought.
    Happy Quilting!

  13. #13
    Super Member btiny36's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the Heart of grain field
    Posts
    1,791
    Blog Entries
    4
    Have a question, what happens if you can't change the resolution to 75dpi, mine seems to only go to 100dpi. I have a brother all in one (fax,print,scan)

  14. #14
    Senior Member Highmtn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    An Ocean Shore
    Posts
    968
    Fantastic tut...thank you ...thank you!!
    "It's a *fine line* between HOBBY and MENTAL ILLNESS"~ Dave Barry

  15. #15
    Power Poster Rhonda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Salem Iowa
    Posts
    15,772
    Blog Entries
    50
    Quote Originally Posted by Merry7110 View Post
    Thanks Rhonda for another wonderful lesson. It makes me feel good that I can now do some of the things I was hoping to do when I bought this program. You are a great teacher! Manuals are good if you know what you want to do and what it is called. I wear out lots of indexes looking for what I need. And I learn best by doing or seeing it done. Do you know if we
    can scan in a pattern block or quilt and use that in EQ somehow? Another thing I'd like to learn. Thanks again!
    Next week I will continue on with more stuff you can do with scanning and the sketchbook. Adding your own photos is one of them.

    What exactly are you wanting to do with a pattern block or quilt?

  16. #16
    Power Poster Rhonda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Salem Iowa
    Posts
    15,772
    Blog Entries
    50
    Quote Originally Posted by btiny36 View Post
    Have a question, what happens if you can't change the resolution to 75dpi, mine seems to only go to 100dpi. I have a brother all in one (fax,print,scan)
    When I started scanning I didn't know about DPIs so I scanned at 200 pixels. If you can only use 100 DPI then you just won't have as close up of a pic of your fabric as you would with 75. You will still see your print but it will be a little smaller print than it would be with 75.

  17. #17
    Super Member btiny36's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the Heart of grain field
    Posts
    1,791
    Blog Entries
    4
    Thanks Rhonda

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    4
    Rohnda, I lost you at the beginning with scanning the fabric. I don't seem to be able to do anything but scan to my documents and don't even know what kind of file it is. Do you know if I can use photoshop elements to do the size and type after scanning? Then import the file from photoshop?

  19. #19
    Power Poster Rhonda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Salem Iowa
    Posts
    15,772
    Blog Entries
    50
    Quote Originally Posted by inpieces64 View Post
    Rohnda, I lost you at the beginning with scanning the fabric. I don't seem to be able to do anything but scan to my documents and don't even know what kind of file it is. Do you know if I can use photoshop elements to do the size and type after scanning? Then import the file from photoshop?
    Are you asking how to do the resolution part? As to the file type you choose that in the window where you save. Under the little window where you type in the file name you will see file type. You can click on the little arrow and a menu will open. Choose BMP from that menu before you save your scan in Documents

  20. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    4
    Thank you for the reply, my printer-scanner gives me some choices such as photo file or pdf document or TIFF format. I will do some more trys at this. I understand how to import it but the scanner seems to be my problem.

  21. #21
    Power Poster Rhonda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Salem Iowa
    Posts
    15,772
    Blog Entries
    50
    Quote Originally Posted by inpieces64 View Post
    Thank you for the reply, my printer-scanner gives me some choices such as photo file or pdf document or TIFF format. I will do some more trys at this. I understand how to import it but the scanner seems to be my problem.
    Basically you just need to scan the fabric and save it on your computer. Where you save it and what size it is is not that important. Changing the resolution and the size is only so you can see the print in your fabric. Once you have your fabric saved on your computer you can use any program to change the file type. that only matters if you have EQ5. I didn't know about the resolution until just recently. I just used my fabric files as is. It didn't show the print as well as I wanted but it worked well enough that I didn't worry about it. I was scanning them at 200 DPI. But I didn't know about pixels or understand all that when I first started scanning.

    So as long as you can save a scanned picture on your pc then that is the bottom line of what you need to do to be able to import that pic into your EQ. You can learn to fine tune the picture later. If you have EQ5 then yes you need to save it as a bitmap file.

    Let me know if you get it figured out or if you are still having trouble.

  22. #22
    Super Member rusty quilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Ft. Gratiot, MI
    Posts
    1,959
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks Rhonda. Scanning makes a big difference in making my designs--look like mine!

  23. #23
    Senior Member babeyruth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Columbia, Md
    Posts
    356
    Hi Rhonda,

    TY so much! I having a problem with my fabric once I import it in. it only shows the fabric in the corner of the pic, instead of the whole pic like it is saved. Very strange.

  24. #24
    Power Poster Rhonda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Salem Iowa
    Posts
    15,772
    Blog Entries
    50
    Quote Originally Posted by babeyruth View Post
    Hi Rhonda,

    TY so much! I having a problem with my fabric once I import it in. it only shows the fabric in the corner of the pic, instead of the whole pic like it is saved. Very strange.
    Which EQ do you have? where are you seeing only the corner of the pic? In the file after it is saved or in the pic after it has been imported or in the preview window in the scan wizard?

    Make sure you do the preview on your scanner and check to see if the preview lines are set right so all of your fabric or as much as you want is showing inside the preview lines.

  25. #25
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    4
    Just wanted to let you know I was finally able to import the fabrics into EQ7. The image however does look as if you can see the weave in it very clearly. Do I need to change the resolution? Seems all I can do is crop the image. TY for all you help.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.