Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 23 of 23

Thread: Rhonda's Electric Quilt Class - Week 5 - More Blocks and Tools

  1. #1
    Power Poster Rhonda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Salem Iowa
    Posts
    15,773
    Blog Entries
    50

    Rhonda's Electric Quilt Class - Week 5 - More Blocks and Tools

    More Blocks and Tools



    Ok now that you know how to scan your fabrics into your EQ let's consider some more ways to use them.


    When you save your blocks in the sketchbook you may see a blank block with lines but no color. This is because you have saved the basic block. If you find the little arrows below your blocks in the sk you can click on the right arrow and it will change the blank block to the next color combo. In your sketchbook the EQ will save up to 10 differant blocks in the same spot. You just have to use the arrows to see them.


    When you are changing colors in a quilt block or a quilt and you save it to your sketchbook - it will save the color combos you used in your blocks as well as in the quilt.


    The block in the last row in the middle started out blank. Then I used the rt arrow and you can see the next two blocks in that stack.





    I have been asked how to create a quilt block that you can "plug in" to a quilt. I'll show you how I do it. If there is a better way to do it I am not aware of it. But I keep saying I am not an expert just sharing with you what I know how to do. I do know you can merge a quilt block into another quilt block in EQ7 but I am going to wait to explore some of the more advanced features in EQ7 for later. Right now I want to keep focused on the things all 3 versions have in common.


    So now let's look at how to create a quilt block that can be placed into a quilt layout.


    Click on Worktable
    Click on Block
    Click on New Block
    Now find the grid tool in the left side tool bar
    Click on Grid and you will then see the menu with Grid Setup
    Click on Grid Set up






    Now you should see the Grid Set up Window
    Change the number to what you want it to be.

    Starting in the top left corner of the block click on the corner and hold it down and draw it down over the block to the bottom right hand corner. This will cover your block with the grid.






    Once you have the grid ready now for the quilt block I want to create here:

    Change the grid to a 2 x 2 grid.

    Now click on the top left corner of the first block. Cover it with the grid.






    Continue placing the 2 x 2 grid in the appropriate squares.






    Now place the lines for the HSTs. (Half square triangles)





    I use the skethbook to keep track of what I am creating or in this case recreating.


    I look at the quilt block in the sketchbook and then I close the sketchbook and work on the block again. I keep checking back with the original quilt block so I have all the lines and colors in the right places.


    When you are happy with the look of your Block then make sure to save it in the sketchbook.
    Since you created this quilt block within a Block you now will find this quilt block in the Block section of your sketchbook not the quilt section.






    Here is the first quilt block I used






    Here is the quilt layout where I placed the same quilt block over and over again.




    And here I turned the blocks to get a differant look





    Here I clicked on layout and added the sashing back in so you could see the individual quilt blocks. I used 2.00 for the size of the sashing and I turned it all white so it would disappear leaving the space.








    Here is a second color combo of the same quilt block






    And here is a layout where I put this quilt block into the quilt layout






    I hope this wasn't confusing to anyone. It really is easy to do.

    It is all about doing small bites at a time.

    Choose a quilt block and then
    use your block to put lines in your block to recreate the quilt block you liked.
    Then once it is a Block you can place it in your quilt layout as many times as you like.
    Or you can mix and mingle several differant quilt blocks.

    Make sure you remember to save your blocks as you go so you can go back and refer to them.



    I hope this has opened up some possibilities for you all to be creative and explore more of your EQ program!


    Here is the PDF file for you to download

  2. #2
    Power Poster ann clare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Navan. Co. Meath. Ireland
    Posts
    15,127
    Thank you Rhonda. Another great Tutorial.
    What I make with my hands, I give with my heart.

  3. #3
    Senior Member grannyQ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    SE Iowa
    Posts
    600
    Blog Entries
    31
    Thank you Rhonda for the pdf files. Another great Tutorial.
    GrannyQ

  4. #4
    Super Member klgreene's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Clovis, NM
    Posts
    2,494
    This is the best way to learn, I know everyone who bought any EQ wanted to go from Beginning to finished product in one jump. This was is so much easier, and not over whelming. This is great. Thanks Rhonda!!!!!
    "Impossible is an opinion, not a fact" Cameron Clapp

    http://signatures.mylivesignature.co...47687D2C18.png

  5. #5
    Junior Member d.swindle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    west csntral arkansas, Mount Ida
    Posts
    231
    I think(klgreene) is right on this is the only to learn EQ, thanks so much
    d.swindle

  6. #6
    Senior Member pdcakm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    california
    Posts
    942
    great job rhonda.
    i have a question which you may plan to address later but i have not seen yet.
    how do you add sashing? i have been through the eq book and tutorial and have not found this info yet.
    if this is a future topic then i will wait for it.
    thanks
    pdcakm alias pat
    If things go wrong, don't go with them. ~Roger Babson

  7. #7
    Junior Member arbed31's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    266
    Blog Entries
    2
    Thanks so much for the lessons.

  8. #8
    Super Member Cottontop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    1,082
    Rhonda, thank you for sharing your absolute genius! (Again and again). After Christmas, I just might backup and do this one. Blessings.
    Cottontop
    (Sally)

  9. #9
    Power Poster Rhonda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Salem Iowa
    Posts
    15,773
    Blog Entries
    50
    Quote Originally Posted by pdcakm View Post
    great job rhonda.
    i have a question which you may plan to address later but i have not seen yet.
    how do you add sashing? i have been through the eq book and tutorial and have not found this info yet.
    if this is a future topic then i will wait for it.
    thanks
    I will be adding it in to a future lesson but it isn't hard to do at all.

    Click on layout under your quilt. when you are in layout you will see a window on the right that shows Number of Blocks / Size of Blocks and under that Sashing.

    Set the sashing to the size you want it to be. The numbers represent inches. You can set the size of your blocks to 12.5" and your sashing to 3" or whatever. Then go back to layer 1 to work on your quilt with sashings.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  10. #10
    Member nancylouie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    77
    Love your help on eq. It is very helpful. However i have a couple of questions wondering if you could help me with. I have been able to design quilts and put them in the sketchbook however when I open my sketchbook they are not there. Also I have made quilt blocks put them in the sketchbook without addding color to them and I am not able to put them in a quilt. Any help on these problems would be appreciated. thanks

  11. #11
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    2,312
    Thanks Rhonda, I would like to thank you for teaching all of use on how to use EQ. If it was not for you most of use would never learn it and it would just sit on the cp not be used. Thanks labug

  12. #12
    Power Poster Rhonda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Salem Iowa
    Posts
    15,773
    Blog Entries
    50
    Quote Originally Posted by nancylouie View Post
    Love your help on eq. It is very helpful. However i have a couple of questions wondering if you could help me with. I have been able to design quilts and put them in the sketchbook however when I open my sketchbook they are not there. Also I have made quilt blocks put them in the sketchbook without addding color to them and I am not able to put them in a quilt. Any help on these problems would be appreciated. thanks
    When you put the quilt in the sketchbook can you see it then in the sketchbook? Are you seeing the blank version of it? Not sure on this one. How are you saving it? I go up to quilt in the top tool bar and click on quilt. In the menu I then click on save this quilt or what ever the words are for saving your quilt. I don't know if this will help. I haven't had this problem.

    The EQ will not place a blank quilt block in a quilt. You have to color it to be able to place it. To work on your blank block open the sketchbook and find your blank block. Click on it and then click on edit. Now add color and save. If you want your block to remain colorless you can go into solids and find the black. The white will be right beside the black. So add white to all of your block. Then save and now you have a block that looks blank but isn't. Now you can use it in a quilt and start with a blank block.

  13. #13
    Senior Member bluesnowdoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    579
    Blog Entries
    3
    Thanks for all your help love my EQ

  14. #14
    Senior Member pdcakm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    california
    Posts
    942
    Quote Originally Posted by Rhonda View Post
    I will be adding it in to a future lesson but it isn't hard to do at all.

    Click on layout under your quilt. when you are in layout you will see a window on the right that shows Number of Blocks / Size of Blocks and under that Sashing.

    Set the sashing to the size you want it to be. The numbers represent inches. You can set the size of your blocks to 12.5" and your sashing to 3" or whatever. Then go back to layer 1 to work on your quilt with sashings.
    thanks for your response. really appreciate this. will give it a try.
    pdcakm alias pat
    If things go wrong, don't go with them. ~Roger Babson

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Pacific Northwest
    Posts
    481
    Thank you, what a great lesson!

  16. #16
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    42,537
    Blog Entries
    43
    i forgot to check on Monday But this is another great tut. Thanks for your time with this
    Nancy in western NY
    before you speak THINK
    T is it True? H is it Helpful? I is it Inspiring? N is it Necessary? K is it Kind?


  17. #17
    Super Member thimblebug6000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    British Columbia
    Posts
    6,079
    Darn.. I'm going to have to admit to being "way" behind here...but trying to catch up today... in EQ5 there is no grid things on the left... on the right column.... I can click on grid tool, but can't see where it gives me any options? Can you tell me what I might be doing wrong, thanks. I see how to drag the cross bars etc. but it's not at all like what you appear to be doing, so maybe there's something else I'm missing?
    Last edited by thimblebug6000; 12-27-2011 at 05:06 PM.

  18. #18
    Power Poster Rhonda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Salem Iowa
    Posts
    15,773
    Blog Entries
    50
    Quote Originally Posted by thimblebug6000 View Post
    Darn.. I'm going to have to admit to being "way" behind here...but trying to catch up today... in EQ5 there is no grid things on the left... on the right column.... I can click on grid tool, but can't see where it gives me any options? Can you tell me what I might be doing wrong, thanks. I see how to drag the cross bars etc. but it's not at all like what you appear to be doing, so maybe there's something else I'm missing?
    Once you click on the grid icon then go to the top left corner of your block and right click. You will see a menu that shows Grid Setup. Click on that. You will see a little window open that you can change the number. Then go back and left click on that corner of your block holding it down and drag.

    Hope this helps!

  19. #19
    Super Member thimblebug6000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    British Columbia
    Posts
    6,079
    Cool, I've never figured out the grid before and have always just used the block - drawing board set-up, and I have a hard time figuring out how many snap points I need for complicated blocks. Will play with the grid when I get a minute later, thanks!

  20. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Central MN
    Posts
    97
    Rhonda,
    First off thanks so much for taking the time to do the tuts for all of us. I have not been able to sit down to
    work on the lessons as you have been posting, so trying to catch up. I have been able to figure out what
    I was supposed to be doing until I got to imposing the 2x2 grid onto the 4x4. I set up the grid numbers to
    the 2's, I have the 4 grid on the block screen and when I click to drag the 2's on it, I get to the corner of
    the first square release the click and my lines go where they want and not in square grid formation. Any
    idea what I might need to do to correct this? I am using the EQ 5 version. Thanks
    Last edited by sewlady31; 02-04-2012 at 05:23 AM. Reason: add info

  21. #21
    Power Poster Rhonda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Salem Iowa
    Posts
    15,773
    Blog Entries
    50
    Quote Originally Posted by sewlady31 View Post
    Rhonda,
    First off thanks so much for taking the time to do the tuts for all of us. I have not been able to sit down to
    work on the lessons as you have been posting, so trying to catch up. I have been able to figure out what
    I was supposed to be doing until I got to imposing the 2x2 grid onto the 4x4. I set up the grid numbers to
    the 2's, I have the 4 grid on the block screen and when I click to drag the 2's on it, I get to the corner of
    the first square release the click and my lines go where they want and not in square grid formation. Any
    idea what I might need to do to correct this? I am using the EQ 5 version. Thanks
    Make sure you are still on the grid icon. If it changes back to the regular tools you won't get the grid to work. So when you get ready to do the 2's click on the grid icon to make sure you have it.

    Other than that I'm not sure what else to suggest.

  22. #22
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Keller, TX
    Posts
    7,516
    Another great tut. Thanks Rhonda.
    Linda

  23. #23
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Central MN
    Posts
    97
    Rhonda,
    It still was not cooperating, so I pulled out the book, and it mentioned that the click points had to be set to
    match the grid. when I set them to 32 and then went back to set the 4 patches on top of the 4x4 grid, they
    snapped in just right. Thanks for the tute and the help. I am really greatful that you are going to all the
    time to teach us all of this.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.