Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 30

Thread: Rhonda's Electric Quilt Class - Week 6 - Odds and Ends

  1. #1
    Power Poster Rhonda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Salem Iowa
    Posts
    15,404
    Blog Entries
    51

    Rhonda's Electric Quilt Class - Week 6 - Odds and Ends

    Today we are going to pick up a few odds and ends that I haven't covered yet.

    Some of these features have more options in EQ6 and EQ7 but I want to stay with the simpler things first and then we will add more of the more complicated functions later on.
    Besides I am still learning about my EQ7 so I need time to figure out some stuff first! *Grin*

    If any one has questions about anything concerning your EQ don't hesitate to ask. It gives me an opportunity to explore things I haven't seen yet if I don't already know the answer to your question.

    Someone asked how to find the place to set the sashing. So here is the answer to that question

    Open a project
    Choose a quilt to work on
    Under the quilt click on layout

    You will see the layout window open on the right of your screen

    This has 3 sections.

    The first one is Blocks. This is where you change the number of blocks you want to use.

    Name:  Layout Sections.jpg
Views: 1504
Size:  20.8 KB

    The second one is Size. Change the numbers to reflect the size of blocks you are going to use. The numbers you see are inches. If you are going to use a 12" finished quilt block then put 12" in there. You don't need to add the seam allowance.

    The third one is the Sashing. I always delete this as I like to use mine with out sashing. So if you want to add sashing this is where you do it. Change the number to the inches you are going to use in your sashes.

    Name:  Blocks and Sizing.jpg
Views: 1528
Size:  23.3 KB

    Under these three you will see a check box that says sash border
    If you click on this you will see..... look at the next picture

    Name:  Sash Border and Sizes.jpg
Views: 1554
Size:  35.6 KB

    You will see this! You'll have a sash border around the quilt.
    And underneath the sash border checkbox you will see the size of your quilt.
    This will tell you what size your quilt will be.
    When you change the size of your blocks or your sashing keep the size of your quilt in view and you can keep track of how big your quilt will be depending on the changes you make in sizes.

    In EQ7 and I think also EQ6 your quilt size is shown at the top of your layout window.

    Name:  Sash Border and Sizes   Half.jpg
Views: 1654
Size:  24.9 KB

    So now you know how to use your layout options!

    Now let's talk about exporting your quilt to a Word document or into a file on your PC.
    If you want to send a pic of your creation to someone you will need to save it to a file.

    Back to your quilt.
    On the left you will see the camera icon( export snapshot). Click on this and you will see a magnifier symbol instead of the curser. Start above the top left corner and hold down the left side of your mouse. Keep it down and pull the box lines over the quilt. Anything inside those lines will be included in the picture you "shoot"

    Name:  untitled yyyyyyyyyyy.jpg
Views: 1512
Size:  11.1 KB

    After you have snapped your snapshot you will see this menu box

    Name:  Export Snapshot.jpg
Views: 1491
Size:  47.5 KB


    If you click on Bitmap then you will need to give it a name and save it as a file on your PC.

    Name:  Bitmap.jpg
Views: 1486
Size:  48.9 KB

    If you click on Clipboard then you can save it and place it in a Word Document or whatever program you have for word processing.

    Name:  Clipboard.jpg
Views: 1474
Size:  41.3 KB

  2. #2
    Super Member knlsmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    West central Illinois
    Posts
    2,968
    Wow. Does EQ tell you how to construct blocks, too?

  3. #3
    Power Poster Rhonda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Salem Iowa
    Posts
    15,404
    Blog Entries
    51
    This may seem obvious to everyone but I decided to cover it just so we all have the same information.
    When you have clicked on your sketchbook you will see these tabs at the top of your sketchbook.
    When you use the libraries you can import blocks or applique or import pictures into your sketchbook. Here you can see your additions and can delete any you decide you don't want or need anymore. Sometimes you get duplicates when you add fabrics etc. Or a quilt might have a flaw in it you want to delete.

    Name:  Sketchbook.jpg
Views: 1482
Size:  75.6 KB

    At the bottom of your sketchbook you can choose the quilt block or quilt etc you want to work on by sliding the square button just under the quilt picture.
    Under that you can click on edit to choose a quilt block to work on.
    You can click on Notecard to add some notes you may want to remember

    Name:  Sketchbook Options.jpg
Views: 1448
Size:  68.6 KB

    click on Notecard and you will see this
    This is a good place to record yardage needed or anything that you may need to know.

    Name:  Notecard.jpg
Views: 1466
Size:  45.1 KB

    As always if anyone has any questions don't hesitate to ask. If I don't know I will see if I can find out.

    thanks everyone! I hope you are enjoying or will soon enjoy your EQ program!!

  4. #4
    Power Poster Rhonda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Salem Iowa
    Posts
    15,404
    Blog Entries
    51
    Quote Originally Posted by knlsmith View Post
    Wow. Does EQ tell you how to construct blocks, too?
    In some ways yes. Depends on what you want to do.

  5. #5

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Pacific Northwest
    Posts
    481
    I love your tutorials...thanks so much for sharing. I have EQ7 and I am more a visual person so to actually see your pictures and the layouts are much easier than reading the book.....thanks for sharing!!!!!

  7. #7
    Member nancylouie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    77
    When i click on the snapshot icon nothing happens--

  8. #8
    Super Member klgreene's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Brewerton, NY
    Posts
    2,493
    I just gave this a quick looky loo, I have to go out this morning, but didn't want to leave with out knowing what todays lesson was. Will have to practice when I get home. Thanks Rhonda.
    "Impossible is an opinion, not a fact" Cameron Clapp

    http://signatures.mylivesignature.co...47687D2C18.png

  9. #9
    Junior Member d.swindle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    west csntral arkansas, Mount Ida
    Posts
    231
    you are one great teacher,thanks, I would not have learned EQ, had it not been for you. thanks again.

    d.swindle

  10. #10
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    2,311
    Hi Rhonda. Just wanted to thank you again. Labug
    Labug

  11. #11
    Power Poster Rhonda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Salem Iowa
    Posts
    15,404
    Blog Entries
    51
    Quote Originally Posted by nancylouie View Post
    When i click on the snapshot icon nothing happens--
    You won't see the magnifier glass til you click above the quilt. When you click on the snapshot icon it changes your cursor but it may not show. But you will see it when you click on a spot above and to the left of your quilt and hold it down. Unfortunately when I do a screenshot it doesn't record the cursor at all.

  12. #12
    Power Poster Rhonda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Salem Iowa
    Posts
    15,404
    Blog Entries
    51
    thank you everyone! And D I love helping so I am glad it helps you to see how to use your program. I love mine so much and hate to see anyone struggle if I can help. LOL Every single time I go into one of my EQ programs to work on what I want to show in the lessons I get side tracked and end up spending more time playing than deciding on the lesson! LOL Those darn what ifs just call to me so strongly!!

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    10
    I believe I have EQ5 does EQ6 or EQ7 have quilting designs? If they don't I think this would be a good addition to the software.

  14. #14
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    44,346
    Blog Entries
    45
    thanks for another great tut. no matter how much i think i know about my eq, i still learn more.... things i never noticed, or things i forgot i knew
    Nancy in western NY
    before you speak T.H.I.N.K.
    T is it True? H is it Helpful? I is it Inspiring? N is it Necessary? K is it Kind?


  15. #15
    Member Jennja's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Fremantle, Western Australia
    Posts
    53
    Rhonda I just want to say a big thank you for all the time you have put into posting these lessons.
    I have just received my EQ7 program today, haven't had time to install it yet. I have kept a copy of all your lessons as I know I am going to require some plain explanations as I am very much a newbie at this quilting business.
    So thank you for you tutorials.
    "The manner of giving is worth more than the gift"
    (Pierre Corneeille)

    http://signatures.mylivesignature.co...565342FC5A.png

  16. #16
    Super Member BonniFeltz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Dekalb, IL
    Posts
    1,874
    Thanks Rhonda! I hope to get caught up on the lessons over Xmas break. They are well worth keeping around.
    Happy Quilting!

  17. #17
    j
    j is offline
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    435
    Boy do I ever live under a rock, I thought Electric Quilting was that you made a quilt and put in wiring like a blanket. Oh well, at least I don't have to SEE everyones giggling face. -- J

  18. #18
    Super Member klgreene's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Brewerton, NY
    Posts
    2,493
    In EQ7, when I click on the camera looking icon, it says "Work on Image" then you have to get a picture. I found the export under "File" "Export Image" and I could save it that way. Works for me!!!!
    "Impossible is an opinion, not a fact" Cameron Clapp

    http://signatures.mylivesignature.co...47687D2C18.png

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Lived in San Diego now retired in Eagar, AZ.
    Posts
    861
    Blog Entries
    1
    this is week 6...right?

  20. #20
    Super Member thimblebug6000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    British Columbia
    Posts
    6,191
    Guess each of us with our different versions see something just a little different... my EQ5 doesn't look exactly like what is pictured now, but I hope I'm getting the "gist" of things, thanks for taking the time to share your knowledge of this program with all of us!

  21. #21
    Power Poster Rhonda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Salem Iowa
    Posts
    15,404
    Blog Entries
    51
    Quote Originally Posted by thimblebug6000 View Post
    Guess each of us with our different versions see something just a little different... my EQ5 doesn't look exactly like what is pictured now, but I hope I'm getting the "gist" of things, thanks for taking the time to share your knowledge of this program with all of us!
    How is it differant? This is a good thing for me to know if they are not the same.

  22. #22
    Super Member Anael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    4,551
    Thank you so much for all your work. Your lessons are very helpful! I do have a question. Is it possible to print borders with EQ 5 and if so, how do I do that?
    Eat, quilt, sleep, repeat



  23. #23
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    44,346
    Blog Entries
    45
    Thank you, Rhonda. Many reminders here for me
    Nancy in western NY
    before you speak T.H.I.N.K.
    T is it True? H is it Helpful? I is it Inspiring? N is it Necessary? K is it Kind?


  24. #24
    Power Poster Rhonda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Salem Iowa
    Posts
    15,404
    Blog Entries
    51
    Quote Originally Posted by Anael View Post
    Thank you so much for all your work. Your lessons are very helpful! I do have a question. Is it possible to print borders with EQ 5 and if so, how do I do that?
    I will be posting a lesson on borders. In the meantime look at the bottom of your quilt worktable and you will see layout borders layer 1 layer 2 etc. click on borders and then there will be a window pop up where you can choose the border you want to use. Also you can add as many borders as you want.

  25. #25
    Member luv2sew2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Covina, CA
    Posts
    21
    I've had EQ5, 6 & 7 and never quite got the hang of it, until now. Thank you so much for your tutorials. I'm also a visual learner and your instructions make it easy to follow along. Thanks!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.