Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Thread for Brother Nouvelle 1500! >

Thread for Brother Nouvelle 1500!

Thread for Brother Nouvelle 1500!

Old 11-27-2012, 05:00 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Shrink42020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 383
Default Thread for Brother Nouvelle 1500!

Help! I bought the Brother Nouvelle 1500 machine newused and every thread that i use lints like crazy! ! am trying to piece a quilt and I have to clean it every 30 minutes or so. I have used Robison Anton and find that it is now very linty and breaks constantly! Does anyone have this machine? If so what thread works for you?? I never noticed as much linting with my Babylock Elegante 2. I love my new machine but the thread issues are quite bothersome!
Shrink42020 is offline  
Old 11-27-2012, 05:13 PM
  #2  
Power Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Western Wisconsin
Posts: 12,930
Default

Aurifil 50wt 2-ply is a wonderful piecing thread that has next to no lint.
Prism99 is offline  
Old 11-27-2012, 05:14 PM
  #3  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The middle of an IL cornfield
Posts: 7,014
Default

I have the Brother Nouvelle 1500s. Mine will sew with any thread I stick in it which is generally some cheapie stuff like Maxi-Lock serger thread or Coates and Clark. I have sewn with assorted metallics, too, with no problems. Is there any chance your problem is something other than thread? Is it threaded properly? I had a few issues the first couple of days with threading. PM if you think I can help further.
Lisa_wanna_b_quilter is offline  
Old 11-27-2012, 06:37 PM
  #4  
Super Member
 
snipforfun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,877
Default

The 1500 sews at a high speed and can cause more linting. Therefore I use a topstitch needle and So Fine thread that dies not lint.
snipforfun is offline  
Old 11-28-2012, 06:36 AM
  #5  
Super Member
 
Quiltngolfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 3,422
Default

I clean the lint off mine often. It does make lint, but man does it sew great. I use mine to death for piecing and quilting. It will use any thread and just make a beautiful stitch. I would love to have the Janome 7700, but my Brother 1500 is such a great machine, I can't justify buying another one. Just clean the lint and enjoy that great machine! I am going to try the topstitch needle. I have never tried one of those. Thanks for the tip.
Quiltngolfer is offline  
Old 11-28-2012, 07:45 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
crashnquilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Lebanon, Missouri
Posts: 602
Default

I use this machine at work. We use Guterman 100% Polyester threads and don't have lint problems.
crashnquilt is offline  
Old 11-28-2012, 08:40 AM
  #7  
Power Poster
 
BellaBoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Front row
Posts: 14,647
Default

I have this machine. It has many more thread eyes so more lint comes off the thread. I don't use but one hole of the upper three hole thread bar and that stopped the thread breaking problem and the auto cutter unthreading the machine. Be sure you use a a correct needle for the fast speed. I use a titanium topstitch needle. That helped with a lot of thread issues too. I can use any thread with the machine with no problem. Be sure and try out different pressure settings, that can make a difference with the type of thread you are using. This machine is so easy to clean and maintain. No need for it to go to the shop unless it quits sewing. I have taken the housing off many times and it is easy to see the most problems. Don't take the flywheel off though, it is a nightmare to get meshed back in sync.
BellaBoo is offline  
Old 12-01-2012, 02:37 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Shrink42020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 383
Default

Thanks everyone! I will definitely look into topstitch needles. threading only one eye and aurifil or Gutterman thread! I thought I HAD to use cotton thread, it is great to know that polyester will work as well, interestling I just purchased a large spool og Gutterman!
Shrink42020 is offline  
Old 08-21-2019, 12:13 AM
  #9  
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 2
Default

Probably a silly Question as i,ve used my 1500 a lot. But lately i have been trying to get an old Quilting machine going that was stashed away out in the back room that when i went back to my 1500 for sanity ( ha ha) it won,t pick the bobbin thread up. I,ve tried everything. Even to changing the needle. Then i started thinking maybe the needle was in wrong. I got so confused that i googled it and ytube says all brother machine needles go with the flat part to the back. I can,t get mine in like that. It seems to go to the right side. Am i mad or not? Please help with some useful advice. I, d appreciate it.
Roslyn Sephton is offline  
Old 08-21-2019, 12:54 AM
  #10  
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 2
Default

Oh my gosh. I have been battling with my machine All day trying to get it going. It goes a bit loopy until i go faster. But reading a couple of the ladies above posts and again i have changed the needle. This time to a topstitch one. Thank you so much. At the moment it,s a goer. I live in the lower part of the souther alps in NSW in Australia; and its over an hour for me to take my machine to town to be fixed and then i have to go back to get the machine a week or two later, so i appreciate any little bit of help.

Last edited by QuiltnNan; 08-21-2019 at 02:56 AM. Reason: shouting/all caps
Roslyn Sephton is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Darloonie
Main
4
07-28-2015 01:41 PM
judy_68
Main
8
06-09-2013 11:09 AM
judy_68
Main
3
06-03-2013 06:49 PM
deranged_damsel
Main
15
02-11-2013 06:51 AM
Shrink42020
Main
7
12-15-2012 06:12 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter