Any info appreciated

Old 03-29-2024, 02:40 AM

Default Any info appreciated

Hi I'm a newbie, still learning how to navigate. I was given this machine from a customer on a job we were doing. I've always wanted a treadle machine, and have come across a couple but never could afford at the time. Now I have this beautiful machine and cabinet. I'm so looking forward to sewing on it. I'm hoping to find the manual so I know all the parts are correct, and that I thread it correctly. I'm pretty sure it is a Davis but not sure what year. Any info is appreciated. Thanks
https://photos.app.goo.gl/6sDmj8ZQ5k8bh4ho6
Old 03-29-2024, 03:01 AM

Can't help you on the manual. Beautiful machine, though!

bkay
Old 03-29-2024, 07:26 AM

Originally Posted by Tagyourit View Post
... I'm pretty sure it is a Davis but not sure what year. Any info is appreciated. Thanks
https://photos.app.goo.gl/6sDmj8ZQ5k8bh4ho6
Welcome to QB. Your machine is not a Davis. I understand why you would think that as there was a Honeymoon made by Davis, however, yours is not. If you look closely at the Davis Honeymoon machines you will not some differences. The most obvious is that the Davis machine hand wheel pulley is on the outside. Another difference is the needle plate. The Davis is square/rectangle versus yours which is oval. The Davis Honeymoon has the stitch length regulator on the bed and yours is on the pillar.

I think your leaf tension may have been altered some how, as it does not look like any of the leaf tensions I have seen.

I can not help at all as to the age of your machine. But I'm guessing from the mid 1920s.

Interestingly enough I was able to find a New Home Series R Sewing Machine Manual at https://ismacs.net/newhome/new-home-...e-manuals.html that looks remarkably similar to your machine.

YWIA

Last edited by OurWorkbench; 03-29-2024 at 07:41 AM.
Old 03-29-2024, 08:40 AM