Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main > For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
Don't Have A Clue How to De-stuck a Machine with Stucked Flywheel/Mechanism. >

Don't Have A Clue How to De-stuck a Machine with Stucked Flywheel/Mechanism.

Don't Have A Clue How to De-stuck a Machine with Stucked Flywheel/Mechanism.

Old 01-16-2014, 07:22 PM

Default Don't Have A Clue How to De-stuck a Machine with Stucked Flywheel/Mechanism.

hi all,

mr newbie here. another silly or dumb question - how do you de-stuck a machine that has stucked fly wheel and mechanism. it seems that this machine was put in a barn and never been oiled since bought. i had the misfortune of using a plier to un-screw the back plate cover and the screw broke due to rust. i am afraid to move the fly wheel or turn it as i might break something. i hope i don't need to put this in a bath of oil as buying oil will be more expensive. any idea ? thanks again.
Old 01-16-2014, 07:35 PM

Originally Posted by vmaniqui View Post
hi all,

mr newbie here. another silly or dumb question - how do you de-stuck a machine that has stucked fly wheel and mechanism. it seems that this machine was put in a barn and never been oiled since bought. i had the misfortune of using a plier to un-screw the back plate cover and the screw broke due to rust. i am afraid to move the fly wheel or turn it as i might break something. i hope i don't need to put this in a bath of oil as buying oil will be more expensive. any idea ? thanks again.
When you say fly wheel, are you talking about the treadle wheel or the hand wheel on the machine head?

Assuming it's the hand wheel, have you loosened the free motion screw first? This will narrow down what has seized. If it moves then the problem is likely on the needlebar side of the harp.
Old 01-16-2014, 08:24 PM