Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main > For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
I could use your help with this machine! >

I could use your help with this machine!

I could use your help with this machine!

Old 04-27-2015, 04:40 AM

Default I could use your help with this machine!

Over the weekend I was "loaned" a Free-Westinghouse electric machine in a stand. I believe it is a mid 1930's model (at least the owners manual is copyrighted 1934). I know it hasn't been run in at least 30 years. I welcome any and all advice or tid-bits you may have. (I'm kinda new at this) She is also in amazing condition.

And now the fun part.....

Old 04-27-2015, 05:07 AM

The only tidbits I have is about oiling and the drive wheel. Before you use it, clean it's surface with sewing machine oil and a cotton pad or piece of soft cloth. Then oil every hole that does not have threads. Turn it by hand a bit so the oil can start seeping into all the appropriate places. After sitting that long the rubber on the drive wheel will probably be flat spotted. That will cause the machine to run very rough and noisy, and it will cause one heck of a vibration. There are a couple sources of these drive wheels on the internet so you might be able to find a replacement. You also might be able to move the one on that machine in or out so a smooth place on the rubber contacts the hand wheel. I have a Free too and I remove the drive wheel when the machine is not in use. The motor is not moveable so there's no way to put anything in there to move the drive wheel away from the hand wheel. Joe
Old 04-27-2015, 06:50 AM

So if it loaned..is that to encourage you to buy it? It looks lovely.
Old 04-27-2015, 07:11 AM

Originally Posted by Mrs. SewNSew View Post
So if it loaned..is that to encourage you to buy it? It looks lovely.
She is in quiet amazing condition. Trying to find out anything in particular about them is so far kinda challenging.