My 201 is knocking.

Old 05-10-2012, 03:40 AM

Default My 201 is knocking.

1956 201.

When I press the foot pedal to sew, my 201 goes 'knock'. Its in the handwheel area but appears to involve the whole horizontal shaft.

It happens only once at the start, then sew beautifully, nothing else wrong. It's all well oiled. I've taken the wheel off and the finger gear and wheel are well greased. When I loosen the wheel the needle disengages and the bobbin winder works just fine.

I've had the motor cover off and that all looks fine. The needle length lever works fine. Baffled. Any ideas? I'm new to working on them but know my way around with screwdriver.
Old 05-10-2012, 12:56 PM

Send PM to Miriam...she just took a several days class with Ray White on all kinds of machines. She actually brought dead to life!! :-)
Old 05-10-2012, 02:36 PM
Power Poster

Miriam would have to look at it. Ask Cathy.
Old 05-10-2012, 06:39 PM

LOL Well Thanks but since it doesn't affect the stitches or anything else, I'll just keep sewing with it. At some point I'll start dismantling and reassembling. Gosh, I wish Ray was in this part of the country.
Old 05-10-2012, 07:18 PM

Couple of simple things to check which cant hurt anything. Pull on the rods underneath the bed and see there is no excessive play---sometimes the cone bearing get out of adjustment with lots of use. Wouldn't hurt to remove the gear covers on the bottom and grease the bevel gears if you havn't already done so. Lastly pry up on the oval cover at spool pin and give a good shot of oil. All basic maintenance.

Knocks are difficult to isolate and I find a careful and sometimes excessive oiling usually solves the problem.

Good Luck
Jon
Old 05-11-2012, 01:11 AM
Power Poster

Originally Posted by jlhmnj View Post