Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main > For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
Necchi BU Mira Motor not working >

Necchi BU Mira Motor not working

Necchi BU Mira Motor not working

Old 05-03-2018, 12:08 PM

Default Necchi BU Mira Motor not working

So, I found a Necchi BU Mira Series Machine at a thrift shop and everything is in decent working condition. The wonder wheel turns and the needle moves, but the motor will not turn. Is there anything that I can do to get the motor to work again, or something I should look for in it? I'm pretty new to all of this, but I'm very handy. I tried looking online for a replacement motor but have had a tough time finding one. If anyone could be of any help that would be fantastic! Cannot seem to upload images for some reason so here is all of the info on the motor:

110 Volts A.C/D.C Amps 1.0

CHAMPION
Made in the USA

Cycles 25-75 Universal Motor Model 2.4

Thank You
-Porsche
Old 05-03-2018, 01:49 PM

I don't think it's the original motor, snice necchi usually came with their own brand name motors. Is it a converted treadle? I would first check the pedal for capacitors, they will sooner or later go bad with age, and you can simply remove it until you find a replacement. The motor can most likely be repaired, check wire and plugs carefully, old wire often need to be replaced.
Old 05-03-2018, 02:26 PM

It is definitely not the original motor. It is blue in color.
Is a Converted Treadle non electric so that you pump the pedal? Very new to this. How would I check for a converted pedal?
Old 05-03-2018, 03:05 PM

Not many Necchi BUs came as treadle, but the odd one turns up every few years. There's not much difference to the electrical version, mostly the cabinet and the irons for the treadle bit. Most by far had electric from the start and odds are yours was too.