Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main > For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
Need help with my Free No.5 treadle please! >

Need help with my Free No.5 treadle please!

Need help with my Free No.5 treadle please!

Old 03-07-2014, 10:50 AM

Default Need help with my Free No.5 treadle please!

I cleaned up my treadle and it runs smooth. The problem is with the stitches. I've wound the bobbin correctly, threaded the shuttle right, and pulled the bobbin thread through. When I try ti sew, the stitches aren't being made. There are holes in the fabric, so I know the needle is the right size and going through okay, but I'm lost. Any help would be greatly appreciated! I would love to get this up and running.
Old 03-07-2014, 11:14 AM

I am a novice here, but I have a Free #5 treadle also. Have you tried to watch what is happening when you make a stitch? In other words, take off the front slide plate and then turn the hand wheel to make sure the thread is going down and making a loop for the shuttle. Also, I found that I had to put the bobbin in a certain way for it to feed properly...unfortunately at this moment I can't remember which end was up, as the saying goes. Maybe someone else here can assist further. Also, is your needle in correctly? This one is flat side to the right, threaded left to right.

HTH,
Jp
Old 03-07-2014, 11:15 AM

Could you have put the needle in wrong? That is usually the problem.
Old 03-07-2014, 12:39 PM

Just in case you don't already have an owners manual:

http://www.ismacs.net/free/manuals/f..._ce_manual.pdf

Good chance it's needle related or something basic as there's not a whole heck of a lot to go wrong.

Jon
Old 03-07-2014, 02:24 PM