New Willard Sewing Machine

Old 10-11-2015, 01:21 PM

Default New Willard Sewing Machine

Hi! I'm new to Quiltingboard. I just acquired a New Willard Sewing Machine that has not seen a cleaning in years at least.
It has very little rust and everything seems to be working. It has what appears to be the original equipment.
My question is what do I clean with so I do not ruin the "decals", etc?
Also, I've seen alot of comments that this sewing machine is for quilting. Is this correct? What makes this a quilting machine? Also, please excuse my ignorance, but can "regular" sewing be done?
Thanks for any information.

Last edited by azgemstone; 10-11-2015 at 01:24 PM.
Old 10-11-2015, 01:22 PM

Welcome to the board! I will let the more informed answer your questions, just wanted to say welcome.
Old 10-11-2015, 01:31 PM

Thanks!
I'm hoping my machine can look as beautiful as yours!
Also, mine comes in a well-maintained oak cabinet.
Old 10-11-2015, 01:41 PM

Well, sure, I would think after she is cleaned and oiled, lubed, she would be ready to go. Do you have a bobbin and holder? It is a pretty machine. You can clean the outside with cotton balls and sewing machine oil. But just over the decals one time with the cotton gently. I take the front plate, the bobbin plate, the balance wheel and as Joe says "everything that moves against another gets oiled. Take the bottom off and clean it too and oil everything that moves. GREASE ONLY on the gears. If I'm saying something wrong, someone correct me.
Old 10-11-2015, 04:10 PM

Hi! and Welcome! Read the stickies and watch Muv's videos on cleaning your machine. Use sewing machine oil ONLY to clean it. Modern cleaners can (and probably will) destroy your decals.
Rodney
Old 10-11-2015, 04:12 PM

Originally Posted by azgemstone View Post
Hi! I'm new to Quiltingboard. ...
My question is what do I clean with so I do not ruin the "decals", etc?