Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main > For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
Overlock stitching on vintage zigzaggers? >

Overlock stitching on vintage zigzaggers?

Overlock stitching on vintage zigzaggers?

Old 07-20-2015, 07:53 PM

Default Overlock stitching on vintage zigzaggers?

Do any of y'all use your vintage zig zag machines to make overlock seams? The Touch N Sew 630 I found is performing wonderfully these past few days, I want to devote it's time to garment construction. I am a complete novice so I'm starting at step one and just studying the manual when it comes to using the machine beyond the joining of fabric or darning, etc. I even ran a few quilting lines on a piece I've been working on, the harp is less forgiving and I don't like the feed as much with all that material. So I think I'll stick to smaller scale work on the Touch N Sew.

Anyway- I had no idea you could create an overedge seam on a zigzag machine! But you can! I have no experience with a serger nor do I own one, but it seems advantageous to use this stitch to finish seams. How about doing this work on an older machine?
Old 07-20-2015, 09:28 PM

Originally Posted by Beautiful_Sound View Post
Do any of y'all use your vintage zig zag machines to make overlock seams?
Do you mean like this?

[ATTACH=CONFIG]525770[/ATTACH]
Attached Thumbnails overcast.jpg  
Old 07-21-2015, 04:25 AM

Yes exactly! How do you like the strength of the stitch? Does it hold up well after washings and wearings?
Old 07-21-2015, 06:10 AM

Originally Posted by manicmike View Post
Do you mean like this?

[ATTACH=CONFIG]525770[/ATTACH]