Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main > For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
Recommendations for  vintage machines >

Recommendations for vintage machines

Recommendations for vintage machines

Old 01-18-2014, 05:34 AM

Default Recommendations for vintage machines

Good Morning all, I'm new to the vintage machine world and have NO space for more sewing machines but I'm thinking of buying a couple anyway...LOL
I've been reading here and think you would all recommend the Singer 301 and or 401 series. Is that right? I am also thinking of a 99.

I want a machine I can sew with, otherwise I can't really justify the expense and the space I will have to find to store it/them in.

I have my great grandmother's treadle, don't know the model but I will get the grandbaby's stuff off it so I can take some pics for you all. The table is not in good shape, it's a veneer and it's peeling on the back.
I have a sweet little Featherweight and another vintage machine that I haven't seen in so long I can't remember what it is. I dropped it off to a friend so he can clean and tune it up for me but I think I will have to do it myself as he has not gotten to it yet.

I have a friend who shops all the yard sales and auctions and will buy for me if I let him know what I'm looking for. He will make a profit on it also which is fair, so I need to give him some ball park figures.

Any advice on which machine you would recommend is appreciated.
Also, I see a lot of ads on CL, but most don't have the model numbers, any websites I can go to to look them up?
Thanks,
Cindy
Old 01-18-2014, 06:20 AM