Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main > For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
Restoring a Grain Mk1 - rust removal >

Restoring a Grain Mk1 - rust removal

Restoring a Grain Mk1 - rust removal

Old 08-21-2020, 03:51 AM

Default Restoring a Grain Mk1 - rust removal

Hello everyone - newbie here
I bought a lovely little hand crank Grain Mk1 miniature sewing machine from a junk shop a few months ago, my first vintage machine as an adult. It has a little bit of rust on the slide plates etc. I really don't want to dismantle and soak it as I've seen a lot of people recommend in evapo rust. I really just want to be able to gently remove the rust with a gentle chemical and a q tip or something to that effect. Do you have any advice?

Thank you so much!!!
Old 08-21-2020, 04:13 AM

Originally Posted by Mrismary View Post
Hello everyone - newbie here
I bought a lovely little hand crank Grain Mk1 miniature sewing machine from a junk shop a few months ago, my first vintage machine as an adult. It has a little bit of rust on the slide plates etc. I really don't want to dismantle and soak it as I've seen a lot of people recommend in evapo rust. I really just want to be able to gently remove the rust with a gentle chemical and a q tip or something to that effect. Do you have any advice?

Thank you so much!!!
Without a picture, it's hard to give advice. However, on the slide plates, etc. (unpainted surfaces), I'd try metal polish first.
bkay
Old 08-21-2020, 04:58 AM

Originally Posted by bkay View Post
Without a picture, it's hard to give advice. However, on the slide plates, etc. (unpainted surfaces), I'd try metal polish first.
bkay
Great point! I didn't even think of adding pics! here are some https://photos.app.goo.gl/cpYTe6VBF3Lo8PFj7 (the site said I couldn't upload to the post as I was missing a security token...). What do you think? Do you have a recommendation on brand as I just wouldn't know the right one to get....

Thanks again
Old 08-21-2020, 05:02 AM