Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main > For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
Singer 31 Gingerbread - opinion needed >

Singer 31 Gingerbread - opinion needed

Singer 31 Gingerbread - opinion needed

Old 04-06-2023, 12:49 PM

Default Singer 31 Gingerbread - opinion needed

Hi everyone,
I am looking for some advice on a 1904 Singer 31 treadle gingerbread and it's potential value and potential to be restored. I absolutely love this machine but also don't want to pay more than is fair. The owner is unsure if it works or when it last did and since they didn't know the actual date so I doubt they'd know much else. Before I take the trip to see it I'm hoping you could impart me with some wisdom since I am a newbie in the world of VSMs. I attached some pics and am wondering what is a good price to pay or if I should back away. I hope it's ok to ask this. All input is greatly appreciated.

Last edited by Ang5612; 04-06-2023 at 01:03 PM.
Old 04-06-2023, 01:07 PM

I can't figure out how to add the pictures.
Old 04-06-2023, 01:15 PM

I hope the pics show up now!
Attached Thumbnails 0860e6a6-d93a-4360-8af1-a433e6fcc5fe.jpeg   fedd8015-cc01-43ca-971b-179afeacb784.jpeg   982734d2-5b03-456e-93d5-60e945600ae5.jpeg   303f89c6-8369-4fd8-b38e-770fcd57a0d1.jpeg   7049c00a-cd3d-450f-af81-5eaf7ad10512.jpeg  

Old 04-06-2023, 02:34 PM

The serial number says it's a class 27 machine from 1905. It can almost certainly be made to work and the cabinet seems to be in good condition. Here in far rural, northern Maine, people would offer it in classifieds for up to a couple hundred dollars or more. They'd sit until the ad expired and be lucky to eventually get $50 for it.

I have a pair of very nice Red Eye 66's in nice cabinets for which I paid 80 or a hundred dollars for the pair.

Unless there's something unusual or valuable about that decal set, I'd be in that range.

Good luck with it!
Old 04-06-2023, 03:02 PM