Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: singer featherweight $200

Blog Entries

singer featherweight $200

Saw a posting on local yard sale featherweight $200. Looks real nice in picture. He said can't test it because the foot petal cord is stiff. What do you all think? I know it's a good price if it works. I know replacing that wire is no big deal, but don't know if anything else is wrong with it. What should I look for? I'm no expert for sure. Thanks
    Create something beautiful from scraps.

Quote Originally Posted by Grace creates View Post
    Saw a posting on local yard sale featherweight $200. .... What should I look for?
    An ATM on the way over.

The foot pedal is an easy fix/replacement. The balance wheel needs to turn 360 degrees with out any issue. It can be a -little- stiff, but not crazy difficult - or completely free.

The needle bar needs to go up and down when you spin the balance (hand) wheel 360 degrees. This would mean that the internals are at least connected and it's not locked up.

Make certain that the machine has a bobbin carrier. Bobbins themselves are cheap, replacement bobbin carriers for a FW?... not so cheap. Any bits, bobs, attachments, carry case and etc. are a plus.

Hopefully others will chime in because I'm not the FW expert. FW's are getting harder and harder to find in that price range. Usually it's 350 and up. It would help if the machine presents well. Nice paint/decals etc. =)
    Last edited by Steelsewing; 08-09-2018 at 07:24 AM.

Take someone with you. I once was trying to purchase off of Craigslist and got spooked about the location. Not a good spot to show up with cash. That was here in Florida. It could have been legit but you never know.

Blog Entries